Throwback: Ras na hEireann USA, 10 March 2013

What: 5K (my first!)

Where: Somerville, Massachusetts (course map)

Who: Me, Colin, and Gina, with moral support from Drew

Benefited: local high school teams and various running teams

Time: 37:38

Photos: (click to open larger versions)

All smiles before the race

All smiles before the race

Sprinting to the finish line!

Sprinting to the finish line!

Congratulatory kisses to go with my medal

Congratulatory kisses to go with my medal

Still smiling after finishing

Still smiling after finishing

Recap: Almost 4400 people ran this race, so there was a ton of energy and general buzzing of excitement as we all lined up in our pace corrals. There was a decent crowd of spectators too, plus various people along the route playing music and cheering us on. The encouragement made me want to run faster; I can only imagine what it feels like to run in a big marathon!

Having only run one mile total at this point in my life, my goal was to make it to the mile mark before I had to stop to walk. As I hit the first mile, I slowed to a stop for only a second before Colin said “just keep going til that next lamp post.” He kept up that motivation the whole rest of the course and, because of his trickery, I was able to run all 3.1 miles! At some point between miles 2 and 3, my legs switched to autopilot and I don’t think I could have stopped if I wanted to. When we saw the finish line, we somehow caught a second wind and sprinted the rest of the way.

Initially after crossing the finish line, my legs kept carrying me past the water and I felt a bit faint. Drew found me and handed me some water, and after collecting our medals and sampling energy drinks, we started making our way back to the car. It was on the way to the car that the runner’s high hit. I kept saying things like “I feel so awesome!!” while Colin and Gina nodded sagely. Knowing I could run a full 5K, and knowing how amazing I felt after doing so, made me want to sign up for as many races as possible. I had caught the running bug!

One thought on “Throwback: Ras na hEireann USA, 10 March 2013

  1. Pingback: OMG Shoes | Slow and Steady(ish)

Leave a Reply

