I’m Gonna Beat the Blerch!!

And I am so psyched!

It sold out in 29 minutes, after crashing the running event website hosting the registration, and yet somehow I managed to squeak in and secure a spot in the Beat the Blerch 10K! Woohoo!!

For those of you asking “What the heck is the Blerch??” you must read The Oatmeal (Matthew Inman)’s web comic about running:

Copyright The Oatmeal

Copyright The Oatmeal

The Terrible and Wonderful Reasons Why I Run Long Distances

I love this comic, and jumped at the chance to buy a Blerch shirt from The Oatmeal when it was offered:

20130907_100813

"...I believe in the Blerch."

And now, I get to run 6.2 miles in scenic Washington state, while being chased by giant blerches, and where the aid stations will feature cake and Nutella and sugary grape beverages instead of just water. Yes!

Neither Drew nor I have ever been to the Pacific Northwest, and this race coincides quite nicely with our anniversary, so we’re going to turn the silliest race ever into a fab mini-vacation, and I can’t wait.

Hey Blerch, I’m coming for you!

3 thoughts on “I’m Gonna Beat the Blerch!!

  1. Pingback: Weekend Wrap-Up, 9/21 | Slow and Steady(ish)

Leave a Reply

