Running Withdrawal

I had a dream the other day that, despite doctor’s orders to not run until my ankle heals, I showed up at the track for speed workouts with the Shammies. While everyone else did their 12x800s and pickups and whatever else they do, I was chugging around the track (in the wrong direction), convinced that if I tried hard enough and ran fast enough, my ankle would miraculously heal. At one point I was cruising around the track on my knees, thinking that maybe knee-running would be good for my ankle (what’s a dream without a little ridiculousness, right?). When I woke up, all I wanted to do was put my shoes on and run.

This past Sunday was the first big race hosted by the Shammies that I was supposed to run as a full-fledged member (I “ran” their Feeney Five last July but was just an anonymous slow girl, not a somewhat familiar slow girl wearing a run club singlet). I had been eagerly awaiting registration to open for Sunday’s run, and jumped on it immediately after the registration link was posted. I was so pumped to run this race! Instead, I’ve been sticking out my lower lip in a pout as I peruse the race results and browse the photos, sighing and consoling myself that there’s always next year. (One good thing about missing the race Sunday was that I was able to attend the entirety of my BFF’s baby shower, which I had been originally planning to selfishly miss most of because of the race. Boo selfishness! Yay baby! I’m so glad I was able to go, and like to think that, had my ankle not been stupid, I would have abandoned the race anyway to celebrate with her. Baby celebrations are so much more important than a silly 5K, as much as I wanted to run it!)

Colin has been good since I’ve abandoned him to injury, and is creating new routes with MapMyRun and cruising around town like no one’s business. He even has a snazzy new GPS watch, which I’ve been eying with envy. I’m dying to try out his new routes with him, and maybe even to spring for a GPS watch of my own someday! I want to be one of the cool kids!

New Balance is hosting a Girls Night Out in Boston next week, complete with a fun run, cocktails, and possibly free swag, and Shauna invited me and a few others to join her there. Sounds like my kind of Girls Night Out, and I’m so bummed that I have to miss it! A pox on your house, ankle! A pox all over your stupid ankle face!

Okay, I might be getting a little hysterical now. Clearly I am suffering from running withdrawal. I’ve actually got a countdown going on my calendar for when my 4-week sentence is up… I created it yesterday after thinking that it should be over any day now, only to see that I’ve still got at least 2 weeks to go. (I’m figuring that my sentence started over when I ran the B.A.A. 5K. Totally unfair, but worth it in the end. I hope.)

To change the subject to something happier and less absurd, I’m taking part in a link-up hosted by The Secret Blogger Club! The Secret Blogger Club is hosted by The Blonder Side of Life and Welcome to the Nuthouse, and is a way to find cool new blogs to follow. Click the link below to see what blogs are taking part, and be sure to add yours if you want to get in on the link-up action!

sbc

11 thoughts on “Running Withdrawal

  1. I’m dealing with time off due to ankle injury and recent surgery and it is so aggravating!

  2. Take it slow to get back out there. Can you bike or do something else lower impact? When I was supposed to be resting, I focused on my core and arms. Not the same but at least it was something. And I wish I lived back closer to Boston or NY again for these events… Indy never has those fun things going on.

    • I know that resting and taking it slow is the best way to get back to it, but it’s driving me a little crazy! My doc suggested biking, but my ankle hurts in such a weird place that I’m worried the pedaling motion might aggravate it. Working on core and arms sounds like a good idea, and something I’ve been meaning to do right along anyway. Maybe now is finally the time! πŸ™‚ Thanks for the suggestion!

      I think I take it for granted that I live in a place where fun running events happen often… I wish I could send some out your way! Do you have any local running stores that might sponsor events?

      • I do.. I keep up on it and am even debating joining a local running club for their sponsored events. (And if you come up with a good way to teleport me to the events or the events to me, let me know!)

        • I’ve been really happy that I joined my local running club. Their events have been fun, and the support and motivation I get from them has been amazing. I’d definitely recommend it!

          I’m working on the teleportation thing… if I figure it out, I’ll let you know πŸ˜‰

  3. Booo on missing races. I had to take 4 days off last week for my foot and that was bad enough. 4 weeks? Boo, I say! Stay strong and let yourself heal!

  4. What!?! I’ll barely miss the Girls NIght Out!! I won’t be movin to the Boston area until next weekend boo 😦 We’ll haveta have another one ourselves yea? Thanks for linkin up!!

    • It looks like NB will be hosting 2 more GNOs in Boston – one in June and one in July. So neither of us have to miss out completely! Though I’d be totally for hosting one of our own πŸ™‚ (I know it’s early, but welcome to MA!!)

      Thank YOU for organizing the link up!

Leave a Reply

