Bucket List Races

Although my time off from running hasn’t been the most productive (unfortunately), one semi-almost-productive thing I’ve been spending my time on is making a list of races I would love to run someday… a bucket list of races, if you will. Some (like the Boston Marathon) have been on my list for a while, and others have only just edged onto my radar. Whether or not making a bucket list of races is truly productive, it’s at least given me some future races to look forward to once I can get back to training.

I’m sure this will be an ever-growing list, but for now here’s what I’ve got:

James Joyce Ramble 10K

This race has been going on for 30 years, but I only found out about it the day before it happened last month. Having been an English major in college, I feel like I need to run this race someday. It just makes sense.

Boston Marathon

Until the bombings last year, the Marathon was always something I enjoyed watching but never really wanted to do. I always figured a half-marathon would be as far as I’d race, and that marathons were for a hardier sort of runner. Now I really want to give it a go, and Boston is my ultimate goal.

London Marathon

Related to what I wrote above, I never thought running marathons was for me. Before last year, I’d watched Run, Fatboy, Run [which features the fictional Nike River Run, a race I’ve always thought of when I’ve heard about the London Marathon, likely because I hadn’t heard much about the London Marathon before 2013] a bunch of times and, though running through London seemed pretty cool, I always figured that I’d look like Simon Pegg’s character – limping slowly along the course with a beyond-pained expression on my face, and finishing 9+ hours after the start. But then I read Alexandra Heminsley’s book Running Like a Girl and her description made it sound like an amazing race, one that I’d now love to run myself someday. (Plus, now that I’ve admitted to being a bit of an Anglophile, it would be a fab excuse to visit England again!)

Santa Rosa Marathon (or half-marathon)

I only just heard about this race from an Active.com email, but it looks awesome! Scenic course through vineyards in California’s wine country (just look at that photo! ^); cool swag including a bottle of wine; a post-race festival with pancakes, coffee, beer, and wine; and it’s a Boston Qualifier. Plus, it’s in a gorgeous part of California (Sonoma County) that I’ve always wanted to see, so it would allow for great touristy adventures!

Rock ‘n’ Roll New Orleans (marathon or half)

The Rock ‘n’ Roll races have always sounded fun to me, and I found myself perusing their website a while back to see what cities these races are held in. Granted, I’d love to run in pretty much any of the cities listed, but NOLA really appealed to me. It’s a fun city; I got to visit a few years back and loved it, and wish I could have seen more of it. Also, the race is in January, and January in New Orleans seems like it wouldn’t be too bad, weather-wise. Barring (or in addition to!) New Orleans, I’d love to run the Rock ‘n’ Roll races in Dublin, Liverpool, Edinburgh, and San Diego.

——

What races are on your bucket list?

8 thoughts on “Bucket List Races

  1. I wanna run Beat the Blerch in Washington. It’s the guy who writes the comic The Oatmeal, and the Blerch is a fictional character from one of his comics about running. This is the first year and it sold out super fast! They actually added a second day and that sold out too!

    • That would have been on my bucket list, but I was one of the lucky people who squeaked in and nabbed a spot! I’ll be running the 10K portion of the race. I’m so excited! 😀 Do you think you’ll do the virtual option he’s been talking about?

  2. I love this. I did a bucket list recently and on my list were:
    Chicago- which I will be doing in October; San Fran half or full, nike or not; , Big Sur; Napa to Sonoma Wine Country Half-among others.
    I also would like to do one of those north face endurance challenges one day, but not anytime soon.

    • Somehow I only *just* noticed this comment… sorry Meagan! I love your bucket list, they all sound like fun races… and rock on for checking one off your list this year – that’s awesome!

Leave a Reply

