Whiling the Time Away…

This Saturday marks 4 weeks since I ran the B.A.A. 5K, and tomorrow will be the 6-week “anniversary” of my discovering my ankle injury. The doctor’s recommended rest time of 4-6 weeks is nearing its end – finally! I feel like I’ve written a million times on this blog about how I’m chomping at the bit to get back to running, and I am, but a part of me is worried that 4-6 weeks won’t be enough healing time.

My ankle situation is probably the weirdest injury I’ve had, because it doesn’t really hurt. Originally it only hurt in one small spot when I touched it, or when my shoes rubbed against it, and then after running the B.A.A. 5K it started to hurt when I’d move my foot in certain ways, but the pain was still rare. This lack of pain is probably what’s been driving me the most crazy about not running… at least if it hurt I wouldn’t want to use it, and would probably be babying it a little more than I am now. I’ve been wearing shoes that don’t aggravate the injury, trying to ice it every night, and wearing my air cast to bed (because without it, I wake up in a bit of pain from having moved my foot around weirdly during the night), but that’s it.

In fact, I was worried I might have re-injured my ankle last week at a field day event at work. A co-worker and I thought it would be fun to do a tug of war just the two of us, and I didn’t think twice about my ankle. Well, turns out my co-worker is pretty fierce, and it was a tug of war battle for the ages. It wasn’t until right before it ended that I looked down at my injured foot and saw it bent in a really unusual way, and a little “uh oh” popped into my head. I spent the rest of the afternoon fretting and being all paranoid about whether my ankle felt funny because I re-injured it, or because I was projecting pain onto it because I was so fixated on it. Sigh. As a wise woman told me when I recounted this story to her, “Dammit woman! Rest means rest!”

[I was hoping to have a photo of the epic tug of war match to share here – because the field day photographers took a ton of pictures of us being sporty – but the only one they used was of us sitting on a bench with smoothies. Ah well. At least we look cool: ]

Photo by ©KaterynaPhotography'14

Photo ©KaterynaPhotography’14

Anyway, here’s my ankle status as of tonight: it doesn’t hurt nearly as bad when I touch it (yay!) but it hurts when I squat or kneel, and feels a little funny every now and then throughout the day. It’s hard to describe. Sometimes it kind of vaguely hurts, or just feels weird enough that I take notice, but it’s not really painful. It’s frustrating, because it seems like it just won’t make up its mind! I’ve been thinking that once it no longer hurts to the touch I might start doing some gentle strengthening exercises, but the general weirdness and pain when I squat/kneel is a little disconcerting. I’m crossing my fingers tight that I’ll be healed enough in 3 1/2 weeks to run the Firefighters 6K.

In the meantime, what have I been doing with my time since I’m not running with the Shammies or Colin? In addition to smiling about things and trying to focus on the positives, here’s how I’ve been whiling my time away the past few days:

Watching Drew play soccer (and wishing that I could lace up my cleats and run around with him!)

Watching Drew play soccer (yellow shirt, left of center) and wishing that I could lace up my cleats and run around with him!

The weather was gorgeous this weekend - finally!! It called for yardwork and errands, as well as...

The weather was gorgeous this weekend – finally!! It called for yardwork and errands, as well as…

...a trip to Sonic! Where I drank an ice cold slushie! While wearing shorts! Huzzah, winter is over!!

…a trip to Sonic! Where I drank an ice cold slushie! While wearing shorts! Huzzah, winter is over!!

Sweet potato tots. Yum.

Sweet potato tots. Yum.

Sunday was another beautiful day (after crazy rain and thunderstorms Saturday night), and Mum, Jack, and my grandma came over for a Mother’s Day lunch. Drew grilled some tilapia, along with some pineapple and apples for dessert, and it was great to spend the afternoon with them!

The weather yesterday was all of a sudden summer-like.

The summer-like weather continued yesterday…

...so obviously that meant dinner consisted of chips and guacamole. With Pimm's cups. Consumed on the porch.

…so obviously that meant dinner consisted of chips and guacamole. With Pimm’s cups. Consumed on the porch.

I’ve been trying(ish) to keep up my fitness too. I’ve been walking at work whenever possible, taking the stairs and taking longer routes to the ladies’ room and such. I’ve been easing my way into core workouts… the things I tried during my first-ever core workout a few weeks ago hurt my neck (I may have done something wrong…) so I’ve been a little hesitant, but I’m slowly increasing my plank times and push-up counts. I tried an arm/shoulder workout tonight and for the most part it went well, but my shoulders did this weird clicky thing when I moved them a certain way and I got concerned, so I may have to find a new routine. Seriously… I feel like I need to sit my body down and give it a good talking-to. If it’s not ankles crapping out on me, it’s unnecessarily clicky shoulders! Guh, this injury lay-off can’t end soon enough!

Happy running… enjoy a few miles for me!

3 thoughts on “Whiling the Time Away…

  1. Sorry I busted your ankle! I had no idea 😦

    Trivia: I have never eaten at Sonic’s, but I was once in a Sonic’s commercial as part of a marching band. They filmed it on the Back to the Future set at Universal Studios.

    • It wasn’t your fault! Yes, you were crazy strong, but it was my fault for the way I was bracing myself. If I had been really smart, I would have said no to tug of war altogether. Ah well, it was fun anyway 🙂

      You west coast people and your brushes with fame! That’s cool trivia though. Do you remember what you played?

Leave a Reply

