Weekend Wrap-Up

Ahh, this weekend was exactly what I needed! Three days off from work, lots of time with family, and my FIRST RUN in over a month. And it felt great to be back! I was worried that my ankle would act up, but it felt fine during the run and felt fine after, so I’ll take that as a positive sign.

Saturday was filled with a fun, touristy trip into the city with some family who are visiting from England. The main objective was a meal at the Union Oyster House – the oldest restaurant in continuous service in the country – and the rest of the afternoon was spent strolling the Rose Kennedy Greenway, poking through a pop-up market, wandering through Faneuil Hall, and stopping by some old haunts in the North End.

Gorgeous day on the Greenway

Gorgeous day on the Greenway

These strange statues on the Greenway turned out to be an artsy misting station

These strange statues on the Greenway turned out to be an artsy misting station

Me and Drew at the pier where we had our first kiss all those years ago!

Me and Drew at the pier where we had our first kiss all those years ago!

Me and my Mum

Me and my Mum

Sunday was another gorgeous day, one that began with errands and a cheeky stop by Marathon Sports to get me some trail running shoes:

Asics Fujitrainer

Asics Fujitrainer

I signed up last week for my first trail race, and I’m really excited about it because it will be the first time Drew and I can actually run a race together! He’s walked a few with me, but his ankles and knees don’t do well running on the pavement, so we’re going to try running on more trails together. The Shammies even have a group that goes for long runs on the trails of a local state park, so we’re planning to try that out soon. Being a gearhead, I had to make sure I had the proper shoes for tearing around the trails!

I also spent a good chunk of the morning trying to trim my new orthotics down to fit in my shoes:

photo(6)

Making a bit of a mess

I haven’t taken them for a proper spin yet because I feel very off-balance wearing them, but I’m planning to work them in gradually until I’m comfortable wearing them all the time. Hopefully they’ll help!

After we finished running errands and had some lunch, Drew and I drove down to a trail he discovered by Mystic Lake. Ever since my PT gave the OK on Thursday, I had been itching to get out and run, and I was excited to try a new route that Drew could also run on! It was a gorgeous path along the shore that dipped through the woods a few times and wasn’t too littered with roots and stones and other ankle-rolling obstacles. I’m definitely looking forward to running there again!

Hello, old friends! It's been too long.

Hello, old friends! It’s been too long.

photo(9)

photo(10)

photo(12)

I made poor Drew stop for a selfie and he was trying so hard to make his smile look "natural" that he ended up looking quite intense. Sorry Drew!

I made poor Drew stop for a selfie and he was trying so hard to make his smile look “natural” that he ended up looking quite intense. Sorry Drew! (He’s adorable though.)

I felt SO good during this run! My right knee bothered me a tiny bit, I think because I was overcompensating for my ankle, trying to run in a way that would protect it, and that threw things off a little. Other than that, I felt great! I managed a pace between 10 and 13 minutes/mile, and made sure to take lots of walk breaks… I didn’t want to over-do it! From our car to the main road and back was exactly 2.25 miles, and though I felt like I could keep going, I made myself stop. My goal had been to take it easy and I didn’t want my puppy-like exuberance to result in another injury.

Drew had been looking forward to grilling all week, so after our run and a quick stop at the grocery store, he grilled up some coconut rum shrimp (shrimp marinated in a glaze of coconut rum, lime juice, brown sugar, ginger, soy sauce, and garlic), which we had with coconut rice and avocado, with grilled pineapple for dessert:

photo(13)

Yum!

Grilled pineapple coated in cinnamon - another yum!

Grilled pineapple coated in cinnamon – another yum!

Monday was Memorial Day, so we both had the day off from work. Drew’s been enjoying making his own yogurt/fruit/granola parfaits on the weekends, and they’ve looked so good that I decided to join him today. Mine was made with cafe latte-flavored Greek yogurt, banana, strawberries, blueberries, pineapple, and “homemade granola” which was a mixture of Fiber One and Cinnamon Life cereals that Drew pounded down with a meat tenderizer:

I should have taken the picture before I mixed it all together... it doesn't look very appetizing but it was delicious!

I should have taken the picture before I mixed it all together… it doesn’t look very appetizing but it was delicious!

The entire afternoon was spent at my uncle’s house celebrating my cousin’s recent college graduation, as well as his birthday, and the birthdays of his brother, his grandpa, my mom, and our family friend Harry. Lots to celebrate! My uncle grilled some burgers and dogs, and the afternoon was spent sitting on their deck sipping sangria and playing with my cousin’s adorable daughters:

Drew serving the role of basketball hoop

Drew serving the role of basketball hoop

A major highlight was the unveiling of Hoodsie Cups, a childhood treat I hadn’t had in years:

Childhood in a cup!

Childhood in a cup!

It was a great day to be outside (though maybe a bit muggy… and buggy), and it was so nice to spend some time with family. The only problem with such an awesome weekend is that having to go back to work feels so much harder! I’ve got two PT appointments this week, and now that I can run again I’m looking forward to the week progressing so I can get back out there. I’m itching to get back to running with the Shammies, but I’m still a bit wary of the speed workouts. I have to keep reminding myself not to over-do it!

What did you do this weekend? (Any cookouts?)

What are you looking forward to this week?

What do you prefer – trail or road running?

2 thoughts on “Weekend Wrap-Up

  1. Hooray for your first run back! The trail looks beautiful! I enjoyed looking at your pictures and recognizing all the sights! We spent our Sunday on the Common and wandering around Beacon Hill 🙂

    • The trail was gorgeous! I hadn’t realized how bored I was getting with my old route until I tried this one… I hardly noticed the time and distance flying by!

      Sunday was the perfect day to be in the city, especially exploring beautiful neighborhoods like Beacon Hill! I’m looking forward to your recap post! 🙂

Leave a Reply

