Weekend Wrap-Up, 6/1

This week didn’t go entirely as planned. After running last Sunday for the first time in over a month and feeling great, I wanted to try to get back into my Tuesday/Thursday/weekend running schedule so that I could get back to running with the Shammies ASAP. I miss them! However, my victorious re-entry into the world of running was not to be.

My ankle was feeling fine, and when I went to my first PT appointment of the week on Tuesday, the PT asked me why I was there if my ankle didn’t hurt anymore. (I thought PT was about strengthening the injured body part, not just pain relief, but what do I know?) I wish I had said my thanks and left right then, but I stayed for some Graston scraping (ouch) and a new round of stretching. I don’t know if it was the order of the appointment (my awesome first appointment had stretching first, then an ultrasound, then Graston, whereas this one was stretching after Graston, with no ultrasound) or the one particular stretch that hurt quite badly, but I left PT Tuesday in more pain than when I had walked in for my first appointment. Not cool.

The pain continued off and on all day, so there was my Tuesday-night run out the window. It still didn’t feel great Wednesday, so no make-up run either. I hoped to get out Thursday, but alas… still pain. I iced my ankle each evening instead of running and sat pouting on the couch. Not the most productive use of my time, but that’s all I really felt up to doing. I wanted to run so badly but was scared that running would make things worse and keep me out of commission even longer.

But don’t despair, dear reader, because the weekend arrived to cheer me right back up. Friday I mustered all the courage I had and went to my friends’ salon after work to chop my hair off. I wasn’t entirely sure I’d go through with it, even as I was sitting in the chair chatting with the stylist, but I bit the bullet and did it:

The before picture (please pardon the bags under my eyes... this was before I dashed out the door to work, after a half-assed blowdry and before I put this mess up into my daily ponytail.)

The before picture (please pardon the bags under my eyes… this was before I dashed out the door to work, after a half-assed blowdry and before I put this mess up into my daily ponytail.)

The after photo! (Please pardon my weird smirk... I'm bad at selfies.)

The after photo! (Please pardon my weird smirk… I’m bad at selfies.)

After photo #2

After photo #2

Saturday featured the wedding of a dear friend and former roommate, and it was one of my favorite weddings I’ve ever attended. The ceremony was at a local theater, and the reception was down the street at a bowling alley/pizza place. Very different, and very fun! (I was good, too, and wore a boring pair of flats instead of the super cute high wedges I bought to go with my dress, all in the name of not making my dodgy ankle any worse.)

Fancy clothes and bowling shoes

Fancy clothes and bowling shoes

My form was way off... the floors were more slippery than usual and I was terrified that I'd go flying if I bowled properly!

My form was way off… the floors were more slippery than usual and I was terrified that I’d go flying if I bowled properly!

Drew, on the other hand, was fearless and bowled like a champ. Not bad for a California boy who grew up with ten-pin!

Drew, on the other hand, was fearless and bowled like a champ. Not bad for a California boy who grew up with ten-pin!

Sunday was a lazy day… I may have consumed more cider and gimlets than water at the wedding, and a touch of dehydration plus allergies made for an unpleasant headache in the morning. After a cup of tea and some cuddle time on the couch, I was ready to get out and test my ankle gently with another trail run with Drew. Unfortunately, there was yardwork to be done and by the time it was finished, Drew was in no mood for running and I was suffering from acute toe destruction courtesy of my boring flats worn to the wedding the day before. It hurt to even put shoes on, let alone cause more friction by running, so we opted for a cheeky trip to the Christmas Tree Shop instead.

I’ve been determined lately to find a small piece of cheap furniture (small bureau, trunk, storage bench, side table… anything) to store my running kit. With all the free shirts from races and the multitude of cold-weather gear I bought this past winter, my small duffel bag has burst into a mess of neon wicking material:

photo

Honestly, this was before it got too bad. I don’t even want to show you what it looks like now!

The Christmas Tree Shop had some promising-looking pieces in a recent flyer, so we set off with hope in our hearts (I think Drew is looking as forward to my taming my mess as I am!). CTS had a decent selection, but alas, everything was more expensive than I was expecting. One amazing thing to note – I made it out of CTS having only spent $15.60… I don’t think I’ve ever left there without spending $50 or more! I was amazed!

I finally found something promising in Home Goods after searching through K Mart and Bed, Bath, & Beyond:

Not a great photo, but it'll do the job.

Not a great photo, but it’ll do the job.

Traipsing around those stores probably wasn’t the ideal evening for either of us, but we got what we (I) were (was) looking for, as well as some cheeky treats.

My ankle didn’t feel too bad today, so the current plan is for Drew and I to go for a run after work tomorrow and test it out again. I signed up for another race – a 2.5 miler this coming Saturday – so I really want to be as ready as I can for what will end up as a double-race weekend. (Why do I keep double-booking myself?! I think I’m just excited to get back out there again!)

How did your week go?

Any upcoming races you’re looking forward to?

Do you have a weakness store where you can’t help but buy a ton of little tchotchkes, and always end up spending way more there than you intended?
Mine is
definitely the Christmas Tree Shop! I always come out of there with little decorations, picture frames, $1 hand soap, tea snacks, tea towels, bonus-sized boxes of Junior Mints… oof, it’s bad!

Leave a Reply

