Bucket List Races, Part 2

Back in May I posted a list of five races I decided to add to my bucket list. It stemmed from a desperate desire to run again while I was sidelined because of my ankle, and gave me a few cool-sounding races to set my goal-sights on.

Recently I noticed a post on Buzzfeed that caught my attention: 11 Breathtakingly Beautiful Marathons in the UK and Ireland. Cue my wanderlust and a second round of bucket list races!

1) Um, pretty much any of the races on that Buzzfeed list. Yes please.

2) Maine Lobster Festival 10K

I love Maine, especially the Rockland/Rockport/Camden area. My family used to vacation up there quite a bit, and one year we managed to be in Rockland during the famed Lobster Festival. I remember lots of artist-painted lobster sculptures all over the city and the fun atmosphere. If I could add running a race through that fun, and maybe have some lobster thrown in, I would be happy as a clam! Er… lobster?

3) Plusnet Yorkshire Marathon

As awesome as running the London Marathon would be (as I discussed in my last bucket list post), I think I would much prefer running 26.2 miles through Yorkshire. I love London, but just imagining running the lovely streets of York followed by gorgeous Yorkshire countryside… there’s no comparison. I visited York for a very quick, whirlwind weekend back in 2010 and would love to go back. A marathon would make a great excuse!

Even though I look superimposed here, I can assure you that I was, in fact, in the middle of climbing York Minster here. (Sadly, this is 1 of only 2 photos of me in York... and the better of the 2!)

Even though I look superimposed, I can assure you that I was, in fact, in the middle of climbing York Minster here. (Sadly, this is one of only two photos that exist of me in York… and the better of the two!)

4) Oxford Half Marathon

(source)

Sir Roger Bannister starting the 2012 Oxford Half – how awesome?! (source)

Hmm, there might be a trend starting here. I wrote a while back about my love for England, so it’s really no surprise that I’d love to take part in some races there. (Any excuse to travel, right?) In addition to my love of Yorkshire, there’s also a special place in my heart for Oxford. I lived there for a few months during college, and when I heard about this race it instantly shot up to the top of my bucket list.

That's me hanging out RIGHT NEAR the Iffley track where Roger Bannister ran his famous mile, and which is part of the Oxford Half course. I'm pretty sure this means it's my fate to run this race.

That’s me hanging out RIGHT NEAR the Iffley track where Sir Roger Bannister ran his famous mile, and which is part of the Oxford Half course. I’m pretty sure this means it’s my fate to run this race.

5) Bupa Great North Run

You know, while I’m on this theme of English races, why not throw one more into the mix? My friend Adrienne ran the Great North a few years ago and, in addition to being totally impressed by how badass she was for running it, I was amazed at how cool the race looked from her pictures on Facebook. I’ve never been to Newcastle or Gateshead, or any of the Great North actually, and what a fun way to explore a new area!

I know I asked this last time, but since May, have you added any new races to your bucket list?

If you could run a race anywhere in the world, where would you pick?

3 thoughts on “Bucket List Races, Part 2

Leave a Reply

