Friday Five(ish)

It’s been quiet on the blog front for me this week… sorry for the silence! There are a few future posts I’ve been working on, and I guess I haven’t had much to say in the interim. That’s changing today with my take on the Friday Five theme… or maybe I’m just shamelessly copying Rae’s Friday Free-for-All (hope you don’t mind, Rae!)… regardless, here are five random things that are on my mind and making me happy today:

1) New kicks!!

Saucony Guide 7 <3 <3

Saucony Guide 7… so shiny!

At the Craft Brew Race a few weeks back I noticed a tiny hole forming in the top of my current running shoes; the neon yellow of my socks was showing through every time I moved my toes. Not good! And the hole has only gotten bigger with each run. I ran my first Guide 6s until they started hurting, and my current ones haven’t hurt me yet so clearly they still have some miles left. I’m going to keep wearing them, but wanted some backup in case my toes blow all the way through.

I’ve been wanting the Guide 7s ever since they came out, especially after I took them for a test run a few months ago, but didn’t feel like I could justify buying them while they were still full-price and my current shoes were still fine. I did splurge on a pair of Adidas Supernova Sequence 6s as a treat after I got a promotion at work, because they were on clearance and I keep reading that it’s apparently good to rotate a few pairs of running shoes at a time… and because they were purple and neon yellow. However, as soon as I got them I injured my ankle and it hurt to even try them on, so I tucked them away until I healed and promptly forgot that I had them. Fast forward to last week, when I remembered them and tried them on again, and turns out they don’t fit after all. Go figure.

Luckily, City Sports lets you return unworn shoes for merchandise credit, even if it’s been almost 4 months since you bought them, so I was able to trade them for a shiny new pair of Guides (and a tube of Nuun). If I “forget” that I already spent money on the Adidas kicks, it feels like I got $120 shoes and Nuun for less than $50. Score! I can’t wait to rock these new kicks!

2) Running scavenger hunt

Amy at Let’s Go Running decided to do a running scavenger hunt this week and I totally jumped on the bandwagon because it sounded awesome. The 5 things we were supposed to find sounded easy enough – a shovel, a green lawn, an out-of-season decoration, a pond, and a bench – but it’s turning out to be trickier than I expected. So far I’ve only crossed two things off my list, a pond and a bench:

bench

The scavenger hunt has made me want to go out for a run every night this week to try to find the other items, but alas… life is getting in the way. I’m hoping I can capture the other items this weekend!

3) Catching up with an old friend

A good friend of mine from college (M-Dawg) has been living on the west coast for a few years and I haven’t seen him in ages. Luckily for those of us on the east coast, he and his wife are moving back this way, and luckily for me, he’s currently living with friends in my city until he finds a permanent place. Wahoo! We have plans for dinner and catching up tonight and I can’t wait to see him and introduce him to the townie bar down the street from my house. It’s been way too long!

Me and M-Dawg at a college Halloween party

Me and M-Dawg at a college Halloween party

4) Gina!!

Gina, my lovely friend and the wife of my running buddy Colin, is coming back into town for a few weeks and is arriving this weekend! I haven’t seen her since New Year’s and I miss her laugh, her fun, pretty much everything about her! So many re-connections with friends this weekend… I love it.

gina

5) Family

Squeezed between catching up with M-Dawg and Gina this weekend, I’ll be heading out to Central Mass to visit my mum, step-dad, and grandma. It’s been a long time since I’ve seen them and it’ll do me so much good to spend some time with them! It’s going to be a weekend of friends, family, and happiness, and I’m pumped. It makes me very glad it’s Friday! πŸ™‚

What’s your weekend looking like?

Have you ever done a scavenger hunt, running or otherwise?

8 thoughts on “Friday Five(ish)

  1. Scavenger Hunt! It’s fun, isn’t it? I ended up crossing my last item off the list today. I’ll post pictures and next week’s list some time this weekend. If I were a savvy blogger, I’d probably do a link-up, but I’m not. Maybe some day. πŸ™‚

    • It is fun! Thanks for getting this started πŸ™‚ I’m planning on posting something dedicated to it over the weekend once I’ve done another run or two. I’m looking forward to the next list!! (I have no idea how to do the link-ups. I think this informal way is fine! :))

    • Thanks! It’s been a fun weekend so far πŸ™‚

      I totally understand about finagling phones and arm bands… mine used to take forever to get in so I’d never want to take it out until the run was over! My arm band broke though, so my phone is in an easier-to-grab location. Pictures still come out blurry and crappy, but ah well!

    • You know, I always kind of wondered if rotating shoes would hurt me too. Maybe it’s good that the Adidas ones didn’t work out… this way I can stick with what I know πŸ™‚

  2. Thanks for the shoutout! You know my weekend was wedding crazyness, but it was good. I’ve never done any kind of photo scavenger hunt. I’m wrapped up in this 100 happy days thing right now, and it’s all I can do to remember to take a picture every day for that, but it’s fun. I think when it’s over I might some other photo-a-day challenge to keep going with.

    • No prob, thanks for the inspiration! πŸ˜‰ Glad to hear the weekend of wedding craziness was good. I think the 100 happy days thing is such a cool idea and I’ve been tempted to jump on that bandwagon too, but I know I’d inevitably miss a day or two and end up worrying about it or giving up… I’m not so great with the challenges.

Leave a Reply

