Running Scavenger Hunt: Week 1

As I mentioned in my post on Friday, Amy at Let’s Go Running has started a running scavenger hunt and I giddily jumped on board. Sometimes, especially during my long runs, I tend to get bored or too focused on the pain in my legs/side/lungs. I figured having a list of things to look for would give me something to concentrate on and thus distract me from my boredom and/or pain.

A few of the items this week were a little tricky but, thanks to my long run today, I was able to find all five!

1) A shovel:

Got to love New England... snow shovels are out and ready all year long!

Got to love New England… snow shovels are out and ready all year long!

2) A green lawn:

This is a pretty bad picture. I pass so many green lawns and snapped this one at random.

This is a pretty bad picture. I passed so many green lawns and snapped this one at random.

3) An out-of-season decoration:

Old Glory never goes out of style, but patriotic bunting? It may be a stretch, but I'm assuming they're left over from July 4th. It's August... they're out of season now, right?

Old Glory never goes out of style, but patriotic bunting? It may be a stretch, but I’m assuming they’re left over from July 4th. It’s August… they’re out of season now, right?

4) A pond, and 5) a bench:

Two birds with one stone!

Two birds with one stone!

So that’s Week 1 sorted. I was hoping Amy would set up another hunt for this week and she didn’t disappoint! The 5 items for this week’s hunt are:

1) A car in disrepair
2) A rose bush
3) A ladder
4) A pair of orange running shoes
5) Sand

Challenge accepted! πŸ™‚

If you’d like to join in the fun, check out Amy’s post for week two here!

6 thoughts on “Running Scavenger Hunt: Week 1

  1. Great finds! I actually saw some “america” bunting, too and wondered the same thing. Flag, yes always in season, but the bunting is extra patriotic, so probably was just a left over from the 4th. So, it totally counts as an out of season decoration.

    • Thanks! Glad you approve of my out-of-season decoration pick… that was a hard one! I’m already trying to think of new routes that could take me to places where I might find this week’s items πŸ™‚

    • Isn’t it great? It makes my runs so much more interesting! You should totally join in, especially for such a long solo run!

  2. This is so fun! I’m just afraid to commit because I’m not good at remembering to do this stuff. And I run the same route almost every time, so it might be tough to find stuff.

    • Totally fair. I tend to run the same route every time too, so I was also nervous that I wouldn’t find everything… I just happened to be lucky last week! It was fun though, and now I’m starting to think of branching out a little route-wise, which might end up being a good call because my route around the pond is starting to get a bit tedious. The scavenger hunt was just the kick in the butt I needed πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

