Weekend Wrap-Up, 8/24(ish)

Yet another Weekend Wrap-Up is a day later than scheduled. I was so completely wiped out after my 10K yesterday that I felt spectacularly accomplished just getting my quick scavenger hunt post up before slinking back to the couch to curl into a painful little ball. This past week wasn’t very exciting or productive for the most part, but here’s the run-down anyway:

Monday (scheduled): rest day
Monday (actual): rest day

My first day back to real life after wandering around DC in a touristy haze was pretty rough. All my co-workers who had attended the same conference I did had returned on Saturday and had Sunday to recover, whereas Drew and I didn’t land back in Boston until pretty late Sunday night. It was all I could do to stay upright at work on Monday, and I don’t even remember what I did after work… probably watched a mini Friends marathon on the couch.

Tuesday (scheduled): gentle trail run
Tuesday (actual): another rest day

After how badly the previous week‘s speed workout had gone, I decided to follow Shammie Steve’s advice and seek out a nice, gentle trail to run on this week. I brought my gear to work so that Drew and I could run right after he picked me up from the bus stop, but he ended up feeling ill all day and didn’t want to run. I considered walking down to the pond to run the trail portions around the lagoon, but then I started to feel ill as well. My sinuses don’t enjoy when I fly anywhere, and the whirlwind DC trip was no exception. More Friends and no running.

Wednesday (scheduled): core/arms/legs
Wednesday (actual): yet another rest day

My sinuses’ anger only intensified during the night, and I woke up with a migraine. Sick day for me, and definitely no working out of any kind, since any movement made my head feel like it was going to explode. Always fun!

Thursday (scheduled): easy run with Colin
Thursday (actual): I’ll give you one guess

Colin and I had discussed a nice, easy run in preparation for our race (or, in his case, races) at the weekend. I still had some lingering migraine symptoms and wasn’t exactly enthusiastic about running, but – having not run in over a week now and with my first 10K looming on Sunday – I thought it would behoove me to maybe move about a bit. Then Colin bailed on me for some bro time, which I might have been secretly happy about, and I didn’t have anywhere near the motivation to go run alone. So I spent the evening reading and it was lovely.

Friday (scheduled): make up run from Thursday
Friday (actual): ALL the rest days!

I had an awful day at work. Awful. It’s a rare occurrence for me to want to slap coworkers but on Friday that’s almost all I wanted to do. That, and crawl under my desk to sleep. During the work day, all I wanted was to go home and run off my frustrations, but by the time I got home all I wanted to do was sit on the couch with a dark and stormy. So that’s what I did. (Drew and I calculated that we had burned way more calories than we consumed while in DC and his theory was that this is why we’d both been feeling off all week, since we’d worn ourselves out. Whether that was the case or not, it made us both feel a little better about why we were feeling so weird.)

Saturday (scheduled): travel day
Saturday (actual): travel day

Sunday’s race was in Wethersfield, Connecticut, which is about 2 hours away from us. Since the race was scheduled to start bright and early at 8:30am, we felt it would be a much easier day if we were already in town, instead of having to wake up at 5:30 or whatever to drive down. So, Saturday afternoon (after Colin’s 5K race that morning) we packed up and drove to our hotel in Rocky Hill, CT, just five minutes down the road from the race start. We drove to Wethersfield after we checked in to explore, since I had heard that it has a gorgeous old town center with lots of colonial-era homes. (Wethersfield was even recently featured on a Buzzfeed listicle titled “24 Small New England Towns You Absolutely Need to Visit” – it’s number 18 on the list.) The old part of town was quite small, but we had a lovely time walking around and drinking in the history:

Having just been at Mount Vernon last weekend, I was excited to continue the Washington theme with my travels

Having just been at Mount Vernon last weekend, I was excited to continue the Washington theme with my travels

photo(2)

This house looks more Victorian than colonial, but I still loved it

This house looks more Victorian than colonial, but I still loved it

photo(4)

photo(5)

photo(6)

Note the horse and carriage in this shot!

Note the horse and carriage in this shot!

photo(8)

These pictures are pretty much the gist of Old Wethersfield… minus an old graveyard and some green space on Broad Street. We had dinner in the beer garden of Lucky Lou’s, which is the green house in the second-to-last photo with the horse and carriage in front of it, and then retired early to try to get some rest before the race.

Sunday (scheduled): Old Wethersfield 10K
Sunday (actual): Old Wethersfield 10K

I did it! I ran my first 10K, all 6.2 miles, only stopping to walk once briefly around mile 4.5 when I grabbed some Gatorade at a water station. I even had enough energy left at the end to sprint to the finish line, quite possibly beating by mere steps the only other woman in my age group still running and making her come last in our group after she led me the whole race. (Sorry, woman in orange!) I took it easy, running just under a 12:00 pace, to ensure that I could make it through the whole thing. I’ll post a full recap soon!

How was your week?

Ever been completely screwed up after traveling/flying?

15 thoughts on “Weekend Wrap-Up, 8/24(ish)

    • Thank you! I was so surprised that I was able to sprint at the end… I thought I’d have nothing left for energy! I was very pleased 😀

    • Thanks! 😀 It was a fun weekend. I wish I had taken more pictures but especially the day of the race I was so tired I couldn’t be bothered, haha.

Leave a Reply

