Midweek Confession: Exhaustion

Readers, I am exhausted. On an average day I’m usually pretty tired, could have continued sleeping well past when my alarm went off, and need copious amounts of caffeine to function, but this week has been abnormal.

It all started on Sunday. I enjoyed a bit of a lie-in, after having to get up on the early side on Saturday for my race (recap is coming!). However, I woke with a bit of a headache after having not rehydrated too well after said race, and the headache hung around for most of the day. I was also just completely wiped out… usually after a race I’m pretty tired, and if possible I indulge in a post-race nap, but this was a weariness that lasted for all of the next day as well. I didn’t want to get up off the couch, and spent most of the day reading and trying to nap (unsuccessfully). I didn’t even have the energy to write the race recap I had planned on doing.

Maybe due to my day of sluggishness, I couldn’t sleep that night. Like, at all. I got maybe one hour of sleep total before I had to get up to go to work. It was awful. I went through a brief insomnia phase right after graduating college, but had been able to sleep mostly normally since then, so this isn’t a normal occurrence for me and my body does not like it. (I think I used up my quota of all-nighters in college and can no longer bounce back at all… the fact that I’m nearly 10 years out of college probably doesn’t help either!)

I spent Monday morning swaying on my feet and barely making it through work, so I sent myself home early so that I could maybe nap. Nope. By the time I got home and crawled into bed and got all cozy, I was wide awake. I didn’t feel like doing much, so I sat on the couch some more. I started writing my race recap but just wasn’t feeling it, nor was I able to focus on reading blogs. I was just a useless lump.

I went to bed early and was able to actually sleep, but I woke up a lot and didn’t feel rested in the morning, which was unfortunate as I had a day-long workshop about project management to attend. Traffic was terrible for some reason (people voting in the primaries?) so I got to the workshop late – so late that there was no real coffee left, only decaf. (Nooooooooooooo!) I had hoped to get to the Shammies speed workout afterwards, but my afternoon commute was no better and I didn’t get home until after the workout had finished. Boo!

I don’t know what my problem is… I’m half-jokingly wondering if my brain fried a little during my race on Saturday, which was the hottest and most humid race I’ve run yet, and maybe the sleep/energy part of my brain is damaged now.

Whatever the reason, this is why there’s been radio silence on my blog for a week, and why I’m way behind with reading all the blogs I follow, and why this post reads as if it were written by an emotionless robot (and for this I apologize). Hopefully I’ll get some energy back one of these days!

Do you have any tricks for beating insomnia?

What about tricks for getting through work when you’re utterly wiped out?

Anything to confess this week?

Vodka and Soda
15 thoughts on “Midweek Confession: Exhaustion

  1. Ugh, that’s such a yucky feeling! I suffer from the variety of insomnia where I wake up a bunch during the night. It blows. And I haven’t really found any solutions, although since I started exercising regularly, I sleep somewhat better.

    Just give yourself a few days to get back into a normal sleep routine, and hopefully you’ll be feeling better soon!

  2. Oh no! I was wondering where you went!
    Unfortunately I have zero suggestions to beat the exhaustion you’re feeling, but I can definitely commiserate (why is running SO hard?!). So at least you know we’re all in this together!!

  3. ugh sounds like a rough start to your week!! : ( I usually just slug around until I start to feel better. Make sure not to drink coffee after 3pm or else it may be keeping you up at night.

    What about tricks for getting through work when youโ€™re utterly wiped out? Focus on everything that is not that important. Save the important stuff for when your brain wakes back up! I like to drink tea in the afternoons instead of coffee. Switch it up!

    • No coffee after 3 (or tea instead) is a good tip… I’ve stupidly been drinking caffeine like all day in an attempt to stay conscious enough to function, so that can’t be helping! And saving important work things for when I’m sharper is a great tip too. Thanks!

  4. ugh, insomnia is the WORST. i suffered from that for YEARS. then i changed my diet, worked out every day at 5am and now i sleep like the dead. maybe it’s just a phase for you; i hope it works itself out. go for a massage!

    • Thanks! I hope it’s a phase too, and a short one at that! A massage sounds nice… can only help, right? ๐Ÿ˜‰ Glad to hear your insomnia went away! Maybe a change in diet and exercise routine would be the ticket if this doesn’t go away on its own.

    • Hmm, Epsom salt baths, I hadn’t heard of that! Might be worth a shot. Naps usually help me too, but I haven’t been able to this week ๐Ÿ˜ฆ Hopefully this weekend I can catch up!

Leave a Reply

