Weekend Wrap-Up, 10/12(ish)

Another week in the books, during which I ran my longest run to date (double digits!!), sang my first karaoke (kind of), ran around the track like a speed demon (heck yes!), and avenged my husband on the soccer pitch (it’s how I do). Let’s recap, shall we?

Monday (scheduled): rest day
Monday (actual): rest day

Ahh, a nice, relaxing evening after a full weekend of long runs and race volunteering. Much needed and much appreciated!

Tuesday (scheduled): speed workout
Tuesday (actual): speed workout

I finally made it back to the track with the Shammies (my first speed workout since August 12!) and it was a workout worthy of a few boo-yeahs. Read all about it here in my giddy speed workout recap!

Wednesday (scheduled): soccer
Wednesday (actual): soccer (kind of)

I was surprisingly not sore after kicking butt in Tuesday’s speed workout, so I should have been raring for some soccer action… except that our game was at 9:30. At night. That’s a whole lot of nope right there. I’m getting too old for these sorts of shenanigans, especially when the team we play is young and fast and has way too much energy for that time of night.

Let’s just say my only contribution to our 2-1 loss was the ninja-like taking-out of the kid on the other team who kept stomping on Drew’s ankle. No one messes with my man. (Fun fact: I promised to always avenge him on the soccer pitch in my wedding vows, and I take my vows seriously.) One perfectly timed swipe of the ankle and my job was done… so well in fact that most of the other players on the pitch were confused as to why there was a free kick given, since I was nowhere near the kid when he went sprawling on the ground. I probably shouldn’t be proud of the fact that I’m an excellent fouler, but there you go.

Haters gon' hate. (source)

Haters gonna hate. (source)

I played for less than 10 minutes total, partly because I was too tired to even deal, but mostly because the pitch was rock-hard and knobbly and my right knee was killing me after running around for only a few minutes. If I didn’t have my first-ever half marathon coming up in a few weeks I would have pushed through it, but I don’t want to injure myself unnecessarily. In retrospect, my decision to return to soccer when I did was some pretty bad timing on my part. (The last game of the season is 4 days before my half.)

Thursday (scheduled): kickball
Thursday (actual): kickball

Still riding high from last week’s miraculous win, the Thursday Night Lights gathered at the field once again for another surprise victory. (Yay!) We didn’t have much hope when we first arrived, since the other team had apparently been there, practicing, for at least a half-hour, and because we only had 7 people show up on time. Somehow, despite not having a full team for an inning or two, and despite having the grumpy umpire who looks like Keith Richards call me out for apparently doing everything wrong at the plate (I did everything the way I always do; the other umpire never saw anything wrong with it so I assumed I was doing everything correctly), our team somehow pulled off a 3-1 win and I even managed to score one of our runs! We celebrated with pizza and beer (or cider, in my case) and a little karaoke, including my first-ever appearance behind the microphone! I only went up because every other lady on the team went up together and we all sang TLC’s “Waterfalls.” Mostly I did awkward dancing, but that counts, right?

Friday (scheduled): rest day
Friday (actual): rest day

Exhausted after two late nights in a row (like I said, I’m getting too old for these kinds of shenanigans), and unimpressed with how chilly it got at night, I opted to stay home and chat with my mum rather than be a good wife and cheer Drew on at his soccer game. He said it had been unbelievably cold up on the hill where the pitch is, so I think I made the right decision. Cozy-wise, anyway.

Saturday (scheduled): possible long run?
Saturday (actual): another rest day

It was a rainy, crappy day, perfect for being cozy inside with a cup of tea and a book. Drew and I watched some TV and played some video games, and it was a nice, chill day. Ah, lovely.

Sunday (scheduled): long run (if not done Saturday)
Sunday (actual): long run

fitsnapColin joined me this week for what was going to be my last long run before my half in two weeks. I really wanted to hit 10 miles, even though I knew that was upping my mileage a little too much/too quickly after having only hit 8.5 last week. Throwing caution to the wind, we embarked on a journey with the goal of 5 laps of the pond, with a mile of walking on either end for warm-up and cool-down.

I approached this run a little cockily after how well my long run went last week, when it was cool and cloudy and I hadn’t run very much in the week or so beforehand. My weather app said it was about the same temperature as last week, so I wore more or less the same clothes… only to have it be super sunny and quite warm once I got moving. I was ruing having worn long sleeves!

I don’t know if it was the unexpected heat, or the fact that I had run much more during the week, but my first two miles were terrible. I was getting bad cramps in my stomach that felt like side-stitches, but were front-stitches. (Is that a thing?) It hurt to breathe and I actually didn’t think I was going to make 2 miles, let alone 10, and Colin was trying to reassure me that we could quit and try again in a few hours once it cooled down. I really didn’t like the idea of going home and then having to drag myself back out for another run, so I pushed myself to just make 2 miles to see how I felt. Luckily it got better. A bit.

This long run was definitely not as good as my last one, but it did have its upsides. For one, when I hit the 7-mile mark, I didn’t suddenly want to keel over like I did last time; I actually felt pretty good at that point. The last few miles were actually relatively easy compared with the first few (that’s a good sign right??). Plus, this time I had my running buddy with me to chat with and that helped make the miles go by more quickly.

The one thing I really didn’t like about this run was how much pain I was in for most of it. In addition to my weird front-stitches in the beginning, my ankles and my right knee were hurting too. My right knee had started hurting towards the end of my long run last week, but the ankles were new. (Well, my ankles have always been pains, but they usually don’t hurt like this while I run.) The pain sort of went away after a few miles – to be replaced by hip-flexor pain where I think I might have pulled something doing that weird stretch before my first 10K a few weeks back – but then came back again toward the end. My knees, both of them now, are still bothering me the morning after, which is worrying me a bit. I’ve been icing them today and taking it easy, and hope that these next two weeks of tapering will do them good. Fingers crossed…

How was your week?

Any tips for easing knee pain, specifically in the soft bits around the kneecaps? (…should I be worried?!)

If you’re married, did you include any non-traditional parts to your vows?
I really did vow to avenge Drew on the soccer pitch! I don’t mess around πŸ™‚

10 thoughts on “Weekend Wrap-Up, 10/12(ish)

  1. Congrats on your first double digit run! That’s a huge accomplishment – especially a mental one considering how you felt.

    As for the knee pain, keep icing and taking it easy for the next couple days. The taper may be coming at the perfect time when you really need it. However, if there still is no improvement after a few days and especially if your knees hurt even when you walk, see a doctor or physical therapist just to be safe.

    Good luck and wishing you all the best!

    • Thank you! πŸ™‚ And thanks for the knee tips… I’m crossing my fingers that resting and icing it for a few days will do the trick!

  2. Good on you for avenging your man! We’re probably not going to do anything to out of the norm with our vows, but we’re also planning on the absolute minimum ceremony possible. I’m glad you pushed through on your long run in spite of feeling yucky. Now you just need to take care of yourself before the half!

    • Thanks! Ugh, stitches are rough, especially during races! I’m about to go read your recap from Sunday… can’t wait to hear all about it! πŸ™‚

  3. Woo hoo, double digits!! Congrats! Sorry about the cramps though, that’s rough. I totally agree with you on the 9:30 start. If I had a volleyball game at that time, I would probably be a no show. That’s just way too late! By the way, your wedding vows rock!

    • Thanks! πŸ™‚ I probably need to get better about my breathing and making it more even… that will hopefully help with the cramps and stitches. And dude, 9:30 games, what gives?! I used to be part of a Sunday league that had games at 11pm (!!). 11 on a Sunday night! Just evil. I avoid that league like the plague now. I’m too old for this! (And thanks… we enjoyed our fun vows πŸ˜‰ )

Leave a Reply

