Friday’s Snow-Covered Brain Leaks

Happy Friday!

I was hoping by this point that I’d have either a celebratory “I’m back in physical therapy, yay!” post, or a “the orthopedist said X weeks of no running, boooo” post to share, along with an adventure-filled tale from my first appointment at the sports injury prevention clinic, but, well, all the snow happened:

Snow drift in one of our second-floor windows

Snow drift in one of our second-floor windows

Brandishing my empty packet of Honey Stinger chews before shoveling that mess behind me

Brandishing my empty packet of Honey Stinger chews before shoveling that mess behind me

I was supposed to see my orthopedist about my dodgy foot a month ago, but he called out sick, then went on vacation, and then Winter Storm Juno made him postpone me yet again. Supposedly I will have information about my foot in a week and a half, and by that point I feel like whatever it was will probably be mostly healed. Can’t hurt to check in anyway, I guess!

As for the sports injury prevention clinic, I chickened out of my appointment last weekend because of the “bad driving conditions” forecast in our little pre-Juno snowstorm. Turns out the roads were okay after all, and now I’m waiting 2.5 weeks until I can have my gait analyzed and learn how to run properly.Β  This is all certainly an exercise in patience for me!

So, in lieu of all those posts that got waylaid (sort of, not really) by Juno, here are some random brain leaks for your Friday reading pleasure.

-We got a few inches of snow last weekend, followed by just over 2 feet during Juno, and now we’re supposed to get another 4-8 inches tonight AND possibly even more on Monday. Seriously, winter… staahp already!

Flashback Friday! Me helping my dad shovel during a snowstorm in the days of yore

Flashback Friday! Me helping my dad shovel during a snowstorm in the days of yore.

-Speaking of snow, who needs the gym when you can spend several hours shoveling the sidewalks, digging out fire hydrants, and unearthing the car from massive snow drifts? I can’t move my arms very much and my shoulders and back are killing me, but at least I worked out, right?

-I keep getting emails about the B.A.A. 5K registration opening up next week, and part of me is tempted to do it again. However, running a 5K with 9,999 other people once was probably enough for me, and anyway, there’s a chance I might be volunteering that day, handing out Boston Marathon bib packets with my run club! New experiences FTW! The B.A.A. 10K, however, is quite tempting…..

-I’m having such book A.D.D. right now. Ever since the week of Thanksgiving, really… I just can’t settle in to a good book. There are plenty I want to read, and I’m in the middle of at least 4 right now, but nothing is really hooking me. I hate when this happens!

From this #librarianproblems post that is all too real

From this #librarianproblems post that is all too real

-Somewhat related to that reading A.D.D., I’m also suffering from a mighty bout of writer’s block (as evidenced by the sheer number of survey-type posts and general mailing-it-in rambles I’ve been putting on this blog lately… including this post). I owe my friend Jeremiah a post about something that happened more than 3 weeks ago. I am a horrible person. (I do have a draft, Big J, I promise!)

-Related to both those last two bullets, I have a few running-related books I’m meaning to write reviews of here… I just need to read them first. And then, you know, write the reviews. Maybe someday?

-I haven’t been back to the gym since my last treadmill adventure (chronicled here). Thank you to everyone who offered treadmill advice in the comments! I am definitely bringing music next time.

-I had a brief flash of motivation Monday night, as I fell asleep with the snow falling steadily outside… with a travel ban in place on Tuesday, it would be the perfect time to go for a snow run! I could run down the middle of the street with little to no hassle! I fell asleep with that lovely thought in my head, then woke up Tuesday with a fear of plows and an aversion to running in my very non-waterproof trail shoes. I opted for the couch. And shoveling. Close enough?

Hopefully I’ll have a post of substance to write soon. In the meantime, have a great weekend!

How was your week? Anyone racing this weekend?

Did you experience the wrath (or maybe lack thereof, depending on where you live) of Juno? Did you brave a snow run?

Do you ever get book A.D.D.? What do you do to beat it? Any book you’d recommend?

20 thoughts on “Friday’s Snow-Covered Brain Leaks

  1. Last winter in Chicago was the worst. Ever. And that’s all I have to say about that.

    AND BOOKS ARE MY THING! What are you reading that hasn’t really caught you? And what are your faves? Let’s DO this *readers advisory mode*

  2. Wow, all that snow is amazing!! Can’t believe that’s your SECOND floor window – crazy!
    Sorry to hear about the running, patience is definitely something that is tested when you’re a runner!

    • Crazy, right? And the city where my mum lives got at least a foot more than we got!
      Thanks… I’m certainly getting well trained in the art of patience πŸ™‚

  3. First things first, send some of that snow up to Vermont for goodness’ sake! We got like 4 inches on Tuesday night and another 4 last night. Our economy depends on snow for winter sports! I also am suffering from book ADD. It sucks. I’m just sort of rolling with it and playing video games instead. I hope all your upcoming appointments are useful/helpful!

    • Oh boy. If I had some way of moving this snow up to VT, I would do it in a heartbeat! Even shoveling it into a dump truck and driving it up there myself πŸ˜‰
      Video games are a nice diversion from the book ADD… I’ve been doing a bit of that too!

    • I wish I could!! We have way more than we need and I’d be happy to share! πŸ™‚ Did you get some yesterday? I was hearing horror stories about the Tube this morning so I’m assuming it was worse up North?

  4. I’m sorry the snow has gotten in the way of your appointments. I do hope you get your foot checked out soon (and crossing my fingers for some good news for you!). I have book ADD also. Or maybe just too many other things I want to do first? I don’t know…but I haven’t been able to sit down and read a book in a long while… I should work on that! Haha, maybe next year I’ll make it a goal so I HAVE to do it. That’s sometimes my best motivation!

    • Thanks! My fingers are crossed it’s only good news too. You know, once I actually am able to go to one of these appointments πŸ˜‰ Do you enjoy the various challenges that float around in the blogosphere? I’ve seen a few book ones if you really want to be motivated πŸ™‚

      • I haven’t really seen any of the challenges, but I probably should take something on. I think I need a whole list to work on – maybe a bunch of top sellers or award winners – books I should read at some point in my life, you know. What are your recommendations?!

  5. I feel you on the book ADD right now. I think I am in the middle of 4 or is it 5? Some running, some health and some others that are all over the place. Then I try to buy a new one but won’t let myself until I finish another one. It’s a vicious cycle. I wouldn’t even know how to handle all that snow.

    • Haha, it’s SUCH a vicious cycle! I always want to buy more books when I’m in the middle of a bunch, and I always end up requesting a ton from the library and they all come in at once on top of everything else. I’m a mess.

      The amount of snow we have right now (we got another foot and a half yesterday and are due for more later in the week) calls for strong backs, a sense of humor, strong self-control so you don’t kill anyone or set anything on fire, and lots of alcohol. That’s how you handle it! πŸ˜‰ Oh, and friends who own plows, if possible.

    • Junoooo! *shakes fist*

      I’m seriously all set with winter too. Luckily it didn’t mess up the Super Bowl (YAY!!!!) but the duck boat parade got postponed.. not too bad. I just don’t know where to put any more snow, and we’re supposed to get more on Thursday! 😦

Leave a Reply

