Couch to 5 Miler: Week 6

This week was a bit of a waste, to be honest. My sore ribs improved only slightly, and I was on doctor’s orders not to run for a week anyway, so this should be a boring post. I won’t feel bad if you abandon ship now! πŸ™‚

Here’s what the week was supposed to look like, according to my training plan:

Thursday: cross-train
Friday: run 40-45 mins
Saturday: rest
Sunday: run 6 miles (according to plan) / run at least 4 miles (according to instructor)
Monday: cross-train
Tuesday: cross-train
Wednesday: class

The last time I did any real physical activity was last Wednesday, when I ignored my better judgement and raced 6.4 miles on the Expresso bike at the gym.

Thursday was chock-full of meetings at work, and I was exhausted when I got home. Drew had a night out with the guys and I blogged. And probably read and went to bed early. I don’t remember. What I do remember is not doing anything active!

Friday I met with my doctor, who gave me heavy-duty cough syrup to try to lessen the constant impact on my ribs. Then I took the train out to my mom’s after work to have a girls’ weekend, since Drew was going to be at PAX the whole time. And so commenced a weekend full of coziness, copious amounts of tea, and lots of good family time. I did walk briefly around the mall on Saturday but that was about it for exercise.

Sunday was actually pretty active if you consider running around my house cleaning and being domestic active! Lugging laundry baskets up and down the stairs, loading and unloading the dishwasher, and running up and down the stairs some more as I tidied. I may have jolted my ribs about a bit as I did so, which wasn’t great, but these things had to be done.

Boo, ribs. Boo.

Boo, ribs. Boo.

Monday I walked quite a bit at work, and felt altogether silly and useless as my co-workers had to lift and move boxes around for me all day. What can you do, I guess? The evening was spent watching silly TV shows and going to bed early yet again. Daylight Savings Time is doing a number on me this year.

Tuesday was another busy day at work, and another with lots of walking. I made the observation during the day that my ribs hurt a bit less if I pressed gently on them, so I picked up a knock-off Ace bandage on my way home from work to see if that would help my still-dodgy ribs.

Tuesday was also the last indoor track session of the season for the Shammies, which I had to miss out on yet again. In lieu of speedwork I finished my latest book for book club (which was disappointing) and had a mini shopping spree at Daedalus Books. My mom gave me their catalog and oh boy, is it dangerous! Tons of cheap sale books and remainders. I didn’t intend to go on a spree, but that’s lots of birthday prezzies bought! …plus a cheeky book or two for myself.

WednesdayΒ unfortunately saw my running class canceled. I wasn’t going to run anyway (the doctor who treated my ribs said to let pain be my guide, and this pain is quite the cantankerous guide!) but our substitute instructor had said that I could join her on a walk as the rest of the class got their run in. I was quite looking forward to it; our sub for this week was my 5K for Beginners instructor from two years ago and she’s pretty awesome. Ah well. I did manage to get outside for a walk anyway, which was lovely because the weather was gorgeous and very nearly spring-like!

walkI’m not even going to post what this next week looks like on the ol’ training plan because I doubt I’ll get to do much of it. Cross your fingers for me that these ribs heal soon!

How’s yourΒ week going?

How’s Daylight Savings Time treating you?
I am so ready to see this silly thing abolished, I don’t know about you!

What are you reading right now? Would you recommend it?

13 thoughts on “Couch to 5 Miler: Week 6

  1. Your poor ribs! I hope they feel better soon. I’ve been in the exact same boat (I literally got an infected lung from coughing too hard- fun!!) and the best thing you can do is rest. Difficult but necessary.
    This week has been rough. I’ve been SO busy, and I’m so pooped from the time change. I (and basically everyone I work with) agrees- it should be banished!
    Right now I’m reading I’ll Give You the Sun, this year’s Printz Award winner. It’s good if you’re into REALLY stylized, hyperbolic language. Seriously, the language is great; it makes my writer’s soul happy. The story is frustrating me, though, so I would probably say pass to most people lol.

    • Thanks Brittany! An infected lung sure sounds like no fun at all. 😦 I really could be better at resting, but it’s hard with the GetFit contest going on at work… resting means fewer minutes which means I’m letting my team down 😦 I’m sure they’ll survive…
      I am all for banishing Daylight Savings Time!!
      I’m also on the fence about stylized, hyperbolic language. A few years ago I probably would have loved it but I’m starting to get impatient with books that seem like they’re trying too hard. Maybe this is my brain rebelling finally against all the literary books I made it read during undergrad! πŸ˜‰

  2. Agh! It must be so frustrating because it sounded like you were really enjoying the running club! Hopefully you get better soon and are enjoying the rest and extra time πŸ™‚

    Corinne x

    • Thanks Corinne πŸ™‚ It is frustrating – I miss run club and I feel like I had *just* gotten over my foot injury when this rib thing struck. Argh!! Definitely need to work on my patience πŸ™‚

    • Thanks Courtney! My ribs are being jerkfaces πŸ™‚

      It was so nice having it be light when I woke up, before Daylight Savings, and it’s sooo much harder to get out of bed in the morning now that it’s dark again. Leaving work at 5:30 and having it still be light though is a consolation!

  3. Boo, ribs, boo! I’m sorry you’re still feeling rough. This week has done a number on me too. Last night was the first full night of sleep I’ve gotten since before the weekend, and I’ve been super tired and cranky. Looking forward to a relaxing weekend of domestic puttering and brewing beer with Ben πŸ˜€

  4. Man, sorry to hear that your ribs are still giving you grief. That’s no good. I admit that I love daylight savings time. No complaints from me. I also move my clocks forward at like 6-7 on Saturday night- tricking myself works. πŸ™‚
    I just bought Confess by Colleen Hoover. Looking forward to starting it but I can tell this one will be different from the others.

    • They’re starting to get a tiny bit better, so fingers crossed πŸ™‚
      Starting DST early and tricking yourself sounds like a good idea… easier than waking up feeling like you’ve lost an hour! I still really struggle going from waking up when it’s light out to waking up in the pitch black though.
      I hadn’t heard of Confess… it sounds interesting! Hope you like it! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

