Friday Five of Randomness

Hello and happy Friday!

Since my brain has been overtaxed these past few weeks and is essentially on strike (I cringe reading the recap I wrote for the Cambridge CityRun… yeesh) – but given that I am quite behind in posting and want to be an active member of the blogosphere again – today’s post will be written as if my brain is on shuffle. At least I’m writing, right? πŸ™‚

So with no further ado, here are five random things on my brain this week:

1) I’m back running again and feeling amazing and somehow faster!!

My ribs have [mostly] healed and my feet and legs seem to be behaving themselves for the moment, so I have been enjoying easing back into some sort of running routine. After performing way better than expected in my first race of the year, I enjoyed a giddy warm(ish) run around the pond, followed by a giddy Easter morning run with the Shammies.

easterThe last time I tried to join the Shammies on their Sunday morning run, it didn’t go so well. This time, however, I was feeling good, there was significantly less snow and ice on the ground to deal with, and I had an amazing run.

I intended to go for 3 miles – mostly so I could get back to my house in time to watch the Burnley v Spurs match before cooking some veg to bring to my grandma’s house for Easter dinner – but was so caught up enjoying running with people that I didn’t realize we were on the 5-mile course until it was too late. By that point it would have been slower to turn back than to keep going, so I completed the 5 miles… faster than the 5-mile race I ran the previous week! What the heck! Pushing myself so as not to slow down my running buddies is the perfect motivator for me, apparently.

2) Marathon week approaches…

…and with it, lots of quality Shammie time that I’m really looking forward to! The club hosts a big pasta dinner every year the Friday before the Marathon, and everyone is invited, even if you’re not running the Marathon. Hooray for free pasta and Shammie time! Then, on Saturday I’m signed up with the club to volunteer at the Marathon expo, and I’m totally giddy with anticipation. I’ve never been to a race expo before, and this is the big one! It’ll be a lot of work (I’m told) but I can’t wait. Sunday is another morning run with the club, and Monday is the Marathon and a much-needed day off from work. Huzzah!

3) Speaking of marathons…

…or at least phrases with “marathon” in them… I bit the bullet and signed up for my second half marathon! I’m not sure right now if I’m excited or just crazy, but I suppose time will tell. Two years back my dad told me about how my home city is trying to become the “Running Capital of New England” – despite sharing a state with Boston, home of the aforementioned Marathon… hmmm… – and as part of that was developing a half marathon. Last year was the inaugural, and I was too injured and too scared of 13.1 mile distances to sign up. Now that I’ve run one, and apparently forgetting how I swore off running additional ones immediately after finishing the first, I figured I might as well give it a go! It looks to be a bit hilly, and is a summer race, so I’m not expecting to PR, but I’m also hoping to *actually* train this time around, so we’ll see how it goes.

wrf4) And speaking of Worcester races…

…I have to DNS yet another race this year, and I’m totally bummed about it. 😦 I signed up for the Tour de Worcester as soon as registration opened, hoping to be able to run all three races this year (as opposed to running one, trying to run another, and straight-up walking the third). Well, this is what I get for registering for races months and months ahead of time… turns out I’m going to have to miss not one but two of the Tour races this year, due to very awesome but very unavoidable plans (more about these at another time). Mostly I’m upset that I wasted so much money on two races. I really need to learn to rein in my ridiculously early race registration habit!

Random scenes from last year's Tour de Worcester

Random scenes from last year’s Tour de Worcester

5) The one not related to running at ALL…

Gotye’s “Somebody That I Used to Know” has been stuck in my head all week. All. Week. I like the song, but to be honest, it’s driving me a bit batty. However, I’ve had a revelation about this song recently, specifically about the following lyric:

No you didn’t have to stoop so low
Have your friends collect your records and then change your number

… when you hear “records” in that line, what do you imagine? Are his ex’s friends picking up LPs? I assume that’s what most people would think. For the first million times I heard the song, I imagined the friends picking up boxes full of papers. I guess you know you’re an archivist when… πŸ˜‰

What do you think – LPs? Or paper records?

Who’s racing this weekend? Any fun plans?

What are your thoughts on race expos? Anything in particular I should keep my eyes peeled for?

Anyone else have a serious problem with signing up for races too early and then not running them??

19 thoughts on “Friday Five of Randomness

  1. Awesome to hear you are back at it and feeling fantastic! Congrats on signing up for a half, that is very inspiring. I find I need to sign up for races early to prepare, If i don’t sign up I don’t do the running, I need that motivation.
    I love expos! Granted, I have only been to one, when I ran Niagara but it was awesome. Such a great atmosphere, so many runners and lots of great stuff. This one had many free samples of bars, gels, drinks etc. Enjoy!
    I am racing this weekend and so excited! First 10 miler race!

    • Thanks Erica! I tend to have a hard time finding the motivation to run if I don’t have a race too…. though even when I’m signed up for a race sometimes I have a hard time getting motivated πŸ™‚
      I hope your 10 miler went well!! I look forward to reading about it if you post a recap πŸ™‚ My next race is a 10 miler and I’ve never done one! Should be interesting!

  2. Yay for you! How are you feeling? Congrats on signing up for the second half! Mad but that’s no problem πŸ™‚ Are you excited? Awesome to hear that you’re back and better than ever. Think sometimes when you have a much needed break or are forced to chill, it builds your energy back up. Loving your ‘silly ears’ too! Not quite an Easter run without winning headwear!

    • Thanks! Definitely mad πŸ˜‰ During and immediately after my first half I thought there was no way I would ever sign up for another… oh well! I’m feeling pretty good right now, and yeah, I’m excited about this race! I love running through my home city and this has a different course than other races I’ve done there so I’m looking forward to that. I’m all for wearing silly headwear at holidays! πŸ™‚

    • Thanks! Fingers crossed anyway… my body has an awful way of knowing when I’m starting to get back on my feet and then decides to break in some way. Maybe this time I can go a little longer before that happens again!

  3. Always yay about your running!
    When I heard “records” in that song, I figured LPs because, well, hipsters is as hipsters does lol Also, I’m not THAT kind of librarian XD
    And I am so so SO jealous of your Boston Marathon involvement!! Race Expos are pretty normal in Chicagoland races, and the ChiMarathon one was like a mega running store on steroids. Be ready to be VERY tempted to spend LOTS of money on cool, COOL running gear (and definitely make a lap or two before you purchase!). Otherwise, enjoy! Relish the energy and anticipation. Take pictures with/of all the cool displays. Talk to people from all over the country and WORLD. Resist the urge to sign up for the next marathon you see… lol
    I swear, Chicago was awesome, and I know I’d have had fun even if I wasn’t running BUT BOSTON. I can’t even imagine!!!

    • I guess I’ve never run a race big enough because NONE I’ve done have had expos…. I guess the Old Port race in Maine kind of has one, but it’s also a summerfest/music thing and not just running-related. I’m pretty pumped about the Boston expo!!
      I wonder if I would have thought LPs in the Gotye song if I still worked in a straight-up library… I hear the word “records” thrown around every day in the archives and so that’s taken over my brain πŸ˜‰

  4. Yay for feeling better!! Wow, a race expo that size would freak me out but it sounds like it will be an amazing experience though. Congrats on signing up for your second half!! That’s awesome and now you will know what to expect. πŸ™‚ I always sign up for races super late, I figure an extra $10-20 is better than not running something. Have a great weekend!

    • Thanks! πŸ™‚ Yes – having done a half already makes this one not quite as scary…. though the fact that it’s at the end of June makes me a little nervous heat-wise, since the half I did was in late October and was nice and cool. I’ll just have to make sure I hydratehydratehydrate!

      Your tactic of signing up later makes sense… what always gets me are the emails that are like “The first X people who sign up get a cool tech tee/hat/whatever swag” and the gearhead in me automatically wants whatever it is. I need to learn that I don’t really need more shirts and I should calm the heck down! πŸ˜‰

  5. That’s great that you signed up for another half. I usually sign up for things on a whim, often at the last minute, which has meant that I’ve missed out on a few that I would have liked to have done. Still, it also meant I got to take part in events that I clearly wasn’t ready for but somehow enjoyed much more than the others – I guess running can be a bit crazy like that. πŸ˜‰
    Best of luck with the training! πŸ™‚

    • Thank you! πŸ™‚ I’ve signed up for one or two races on a whim, but usually I’m psycho about signing up waaay in advance. A happy medium would be nice! πŸ™‚

  6. I actually really like that song… and now it’s stuck in my head too! I’m excited for your next half! It seems like you’re on a good trajectory with your running right now, and I bet if you stick to a plan you can really kick some tail!

Leave a Reply

