Friday Randoms

Happy Friday peeps! I’ve been so terrible about posting lately that I figured I’d throw together a brain-leak-type post because that’s better than nothing… right?

I ran this week! Twice!

Granted, it was only for 4 minutes each time, but I ran!! Like I mentioned in my last post, I haven’t run in, well, nearly a month now, and I was very excited to give it a go once more!

After saying that I could try gentle running as a warmup for PT last Friday, my physio wasn’t thrilled when I asked if I could do just that at my appointment on Tuesday. (?! Why dangle that carrot in front of me only to take it away?? So mean.) She wanted me to stick with the bike, but I had been so excited all weekend at the prospect of running again that I stubbornly stuck with the idea of treadmilling, and she reluctantly gave in. I walked for 3 minutes, ran nice and easy for 2, walked for 2, ran for 2, and walked for another 2. I tried to keep a mental eye on my knee, but was focusing so hard on it as I ran that I wasn’t sure if I was feeling a little pain or if my brain was just picking up on any little nerve firing and making a huge deal out of it. Who knows.

My physio was satisfied that I didn’t have any serious pain, and said I could repeat the exercise on Thursday, as long as I promised to go slow and be gentle with my knee. I was so excited all day yesterday, and after getting home from work and waiting out a torrential rain storm, I drove to the gym for my second run in a month.

My legs always look ridiculous when I take treadmill pics... like I'm sitting down and stretching them on the belt. Hmph.

My legs always look ridiculous when I take treadmill pics… like I’m sitting down and stretching them on the belt. Hmph.

I hit the Expresso bike for a 10-minute warmup (once again forgetting how much more difficult the video game races are on there than the regular bike at PT that’s set on easy/flat) and then did my 2-min walk, 2-min run, etc. for 10 minutes. I stayed just shy of a 14-minute pace and took it nice and easy, again focusing on my knee for any sign of pain. I had just a slight twinge above my kneecap, but hopefully that was nothing. (I’m hoping so hard.) Yay running!

I have a race on Sunday.

No idea how this is going to go. Obviously I’m not going to race it and push myself for a PR or anything, but at this point I’m not sure if I’ll be walking the whole thing or trying to gently run-walk it or what. Or even if I’ll be able to walk the whole thing… I haven’t traveled 3+ miles by foot since Kick in for Kids so I don’t know how my knee will behave. We’ll see what the physio says about it tonight.

Regardless, I’m excited to be taking part in this race this year! It’s the WFPL 5K, a fundraiser for the Watertown Free Public Library. I used to live in The H2O (as the cool kids call it) and used this library often, and I’m always game for supporting public libraries, so it seemed like a perfect race! I signed up for it last year with Colin but ended up DNSing it for a weekend in NYC. So I really really want to take part in whatever way I can this year!

Watertown Free Public Library (source)

Watertown Free Public Library (source)

PRO Compression grab bag goodies!

I’ve fallen a little in love with PRO Compression’s marathon socks, so when I saw they were having a grab bag sale a week or two ago, I splurged as a way to cheer my injured self up. (They’re still offering the grab bag deal, but only for XS socks.) I love getting random designs, and 2 of my 3 were *awesome*. The third pair is the same color as the first pair I ever bought, lime green:

sockIt’s not bad to have a duplicate pair I suppose… but if anyone out there has a new pair they’re not happy with, perhaps also from a grab bag, and wants to trade, let me know! They’re size S/M.

Ear worm(s) of the week.

The last time I did a brain-leaky post, I wrote about my nerdy, archivist interpretation of Gotye’s “Somebody That I Used to Know.” Carrying on that tradition, let’s talk about what’s been stuck in my head this week – a mashup of Ed Sheeran’s “Thinking Out Loud:”

A mashup of that song and what, you ask? A fine cover version of the same song, sung by one Hawkeye (thanks to Jimmy Fallon):

The mashup of these songs is pretty entertaining… as the song runs through my head, I sing lyrics to myself like “Darlin’ I will be loving you til we’re 70… I promise I can do so much more than just archery” and the like. It helps keep me entertained at work as I process boxes of newspaper clippings, anyway! (My headphones broke last week and it makes me a sad, music-less panda.)

Happy weekend! Who’s got fun plans? Anyone racing?

8 thoughts on “Friday Randoms

    • Thanks! πŸ™‚ I’m looking forward to being back in my old ‘hood and hopefully I’ll get to visit the Town Diner! ❀

  1. Yay for running! That’s great news. I hope your knee continues feeling better. Definitely go real easy on it this weekend and don’t get caught up with everyone else’s running. Just do you!
    I’ve got plans that include my last big bad 20-miler of marathon training. The fun about that is when I’m done I get to officially be in taper mode πŸ™‚

    • Thanks, me too! And yes… I need to make sure I don’t get caught up in the race atmosphere! Luckily (well, maybe unluckily?) my friend Julie is also injured, so we’re going to walk it together and that should help keep us reigned in πŸ™‚
      I hope your 20-miler goes well! Yay for tapering! πŸ˜€

  2. So glad to hear you were able to run this week! I admit I kind of love the Hawkeye version of that song. It just makes my inner nerd smile. Have fun at your race however you participate. πŸ™‚ Right now my weekend plans consist of running errands and running. But that actually sounds oddly relaxing right now. πŸ™‚ Have a great weekend!

    • Thanks! πŸ™‚ And I adore that Hawkeye version of the song… I think I like it better than the original πŸ˜‰ I hope you had a great, relaxing weekend of running and running errands!

Leave a Reply

