Runnin’ on Bum Knees

(Runnin’ on bum knees, runnin’ on empty… does it work? Kinda?)

Happy Wednesday, readers! I have fabulous (maybe) news!

I had a PT appointment last night, and it went so well that my physio said I could increase my treadmill running to threeย minutes next time, instead of just two! But wait, it gets better.

At the end of my session, I mentioned that I have a race scheduled for this coming Sunday. (The very same race, in fact, that was my goal return-from-injury race last year… hmm… what is it about spring that makes me so injury-prone?)

After kind of laughing at me, my physio gave me the OK to try to run it! Well, run-walk it very gently, but still! She gave me the same stern “If it starts hurting AT ALL you need to stop your race” talk that she gave me before the WFPL5K, but otherwise I have her blessing. Wahoo!!

Victorious after returning from injury in time for last year's WFD6K

Victorious after returning from injury in time for last year’s WFD6K


Now I just have to hope and pray and cross all my appendages that it goes okay and that I don’t make my knee worse. Cross your fingers for me!!

If you were just coming back from a knee injury, how would you approach a race? What run-walk intervals would you try?

12 thoughts on “Runnin’ on Bum Knees

      • I’ll be the one wearing Day of the Dead arm sleeves ๐Ÿ˜‰
        I’m using this race to get a corral time for the Terrapin 5k in Chicago next month! eeeek!

        • Nice!! I’ll keep an eye out for those! (Not sure what I’ll be wearing… probably a Shamrock Running Club singlet and goofy blue running cap). You’ll likely be way ahead of me if you’re going for a corral time though – good luck!!

  1. Woohoo that is good news! I hope your knee holds up. I would definitely say no fast running – that’s much harder on your knees…but you probably already know that ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Thanks! I hope so too ๐Ÿ™‚ And yes… I’m going to try *really* hard to take it easy. I like to sprint at the end of races (if I have anything left in the tank) but this race ends uphill so maybe that will help keep me from pushing at the end…?

  2. Awesome news!!!! Just try to stay at a nice, easy pace. Sometimes when I am trying to slow down, I will deliberately put myself behind someone slower and not let myself pass them. It’s the only thing that works for me in a race. Have fun!

Leave a Reply

