Knee Update and a Deferment

Happy Wednesday, readers!

It’s been just over 6 weeks since I saw an ortho for my dodgy knee, and 6 weeks to the day since I started PT for said dodgy knee. Surprisingly, those 6 weeks have flown by! If you had told me back then that I’d be not really running for 6 weeks, I would have been devastated. Now that I’m on the other side of it, it didn’t really feel all that bad… though it did help that May seemed to disappear almost before it had even started! (Seriously, where is this year going?!)

Anyway, I revisited the ortho on Monday for a follow-up. He poked at my knee a bit, said it’s nowhere near as swollen as it was when he first saw me, and then jerked my leg around like he had at our first meeting. It’s a bit disconcerting when he does it… it feels like my kneecap will shoot straight off my leg and bounce around the room… but once again he said that my ACL, MCL, and LCL all feel nice and strong, and that nothing scary is happening with my knee. Which is good news!

The slight twinges I’ve been feeling in the last week or so are normal, apparently, as my knee condition can either cause or be caused by tendonitis in the knee, in a cruel version of chicken-or-egg. The ortho also said that you can’t really cure patellofemoral syndrome (aka Runner’s Knee), but you can take measures to stop it and prevent it. He reiterated that it was likely caused because my quads, hamstrings, and glutes are all weak, and that strengthening those muscles will help keep my knees in line.

If only I were good about strength training… *sheepish face* I really need to get better at making sure I do this, because these constant injuries are maddening! Acccountibilibuddies, please keep me in line! 🙂

wrfIn other news, the Worcester Running Festival, which got rained out this past weekend, has been rescheduled for this coming weekend. Just like I called it, I will not be able to take part. Boo. However, the race director is offering free deferment to any runners that can’t make it this weekend, so now I’m already signed up for next year’s half marathon! Fingers crossed that I’ll be uninjured this time next year so I can finally run this thing!

How’s your week going?

Have you ever had to defer a race? How did it work out?

8 thoughts on “Knee Update and a Deferment

  1. Great news that you are healing!!! Bummer about the race but I am glad to hear that they are offering deferment. I hate when I hear about the races that don’t after canceling. I know races cost money but it also doesn’t leave a great feeling about that race for future runners.

    • Thanks! It is great news! 😀 I was really happy that the race director offered both a rain-date and free deferment… most races I’ve heard about being canceled were just straight-up canceled. Props to the organizers of this one!

  2. Fab news about your knee getting better and you being signed up for the Half Marathon next year! Something exciting to work towards 🙂 You sound like you’re in good spirits which is also great!

    • Thanks, definitely! Always good to have something to work towards 🙂 It’s nice being in good spirits again after feeling so frustrated by injury!

  3. I’m glad things are looking up! As much as I hate strength training too, I incorporate it more and more into each training cycle because it really is so important! If it’s hard to motivate yourself to do it, I would suggest spending the money on a strength class or a personal trainer. If it will keep you accountable, it’s worth it!

    • Thanks! Me too 🙂 A strength class definitely sounds doable… I think my gym offers some. Thanks for the tip!

Leave a Reply

