California Dreamin’

If you didn’t happen to notice the exotic location of my last race, I recently got back from a trip to California. I tried to be good and schedule a few posts to go up in my absence, but I also managed to completely miss linking up my linkup post (d’oh!) and managed to fall way behind on blog reading. Now that I’ve caught up for the most part, here’s a brief recap of my travels:

American Library Association Annual Conference

Highlights include committee meetings, poster sessions, tooling around the exhibit hall to get some swag, and chatting about tattoos with the creators of the webcomic Unshelved who, upon finding out where I work, launched into a plan to arrive at my archive with hollow teeth filled with squid ink. Bizarre, but hilarious of you were there, I promise!

Super Librarian!

Super Librarian!

San Francisco

The ALA conference was in SF, a city I had never visited before. I’m lucky to have a couple of hospitable friends who put us up in their place on Mount Sutro:

Looking up at a fog-covered Mt Sutro

Looking up at a fog-covered Mount Sutro

Walking through Sutro Forest

Walking through Sutro Forest

In addition to ALA business, I made sure to leave some time to be touristy…

Golden Gate Bridge

Golden Gate Bridge

Cable cars

Cable cars

Alcatraz (and just a spot of wind)

Alcatraz (and just a spot of wind)

Our hosts also took us on an excursion out of the city, first to their favorite winery in the Santa Cruz Mountains, then to Big Basin Redwoods State Park:

Inside a redwood tree

Inside a redwood tree

Drew likes to climb things

Drew likes to climb things

Roadtrip

We left SF after a few days and made our way down Route 1 toward Los Angeles. Highlights include:

-The National Steinbeck Center in Salinas:

Steinbeck's truck "Rocinante" from Travels with Charley

Steinbeck’s truck “Rocinante” from Travels with Charley

-The gorgeous coastline!

sf9

Bixby Bridge

Bixby Bridge

-Stopping for breakfast and lunch in cool towns like Cambria and San Luis Obispo:

SLO mission

SLO mission

-Solvang, a little piece of Denmark nestled in the Santa Ynez Valley:

sf12

Los Angeles

I don’t have too many pictures from this part of the trip… I’ve been to LA a few times now to visit the in-laws so I wasn’t as snap happy as I was in new-to-me places farther north. However, I did take a few in the Ballona Wetlands, where I ran my #RunRideHydrate virtual race, as well as this one of apocalyptic-looking fireworks in Marina del Rey, thanks to a bunch of fog:

sf13

Mushroom cloud, anyone?

It was a fun trip, but exhausting and now jet lag has me firmly in its grip! Hopefully I’ll get back to East Coast mode soon.

Have you ever been to California?

If you live there or have visited, what are some of your favorite places to go/things to see?

9 thoughts on “California Dreamin’

  1. Glad you had a great vacation! I went to SF for the first time last year! I love the redwood trees but I saw them in Muir Woods. It was a beautiful park. I also spent time in Sonoma to do wine tasting which was a fun time! I still haven’t been to L.A. but will probably make it there next year since my youngest sister goes to college there now πŸ™‚

    • Thanks! We were going to check out Muir Woods but our hosts thought it might be a little crazy/crowded on the weekend, and Big Basin was a little calmer. I’d love to see Muir sometime too. LA is pretty cool! I’m definitely still discovering new things each time I go, there’s a lot to see!

    • It’s been a dream of mine to drive the entirety of Route 1, so while this didn’t complete the dream it definitely hit some of the highlights πŸ™‚

    • No worries at all!! We had a fun time exploring anyway πŸ™‚ Cambria is SO nice, that’s awesome that you get to work there! We had breakfast (and more importantly, coffee) at the Cambria Coffee Roasting Company, and then had lunch at the SloCo Pasty Company (which was a little disappointing). I loved that area!

Leave a Reply

