Couch to 5K: Week 1

Hello there and happy Monday!

I’m happy to report to all my accountabilibuddies out there that, after promising that I’d start Couch to 5K as a way to ease me and my dodgy knee back into regular running, I successfully completed Week 1! So far, so good… and also – so far, so hot. Let’s see what Week 1 looked like:

Week 1, Day 1

My buddy Julie, who’s also coming back from a knee injury, met me in the city after work for our first run. We waited out a ridiculous downpour or two, and then set off onto the incredibly humid river path.

Threatening clouds over the city

Threatening sky over the city

It was a little tricky, as we were dodging not only puddles but also cyclists, other runners, and an incredibly slippery bit of ground between the sidewalk and the river that no one but Julie or I seemed willing to tread upon. We were super careful with our steps, but otherwise pretty much flew our jogging bits, then struggled to breathe during the walk breaks. It was tough to breathe, we were sweaty messes, but we kicked buns AND our knees didn’t hurt!

Victorious "we run this city" photo

Victorious “we run this city” photo

c25k_wk1_day1Week 1, Day 2

Drew and I skipped track with the Shammies last week in order to attend my work softball team’s final game of the season, followed by delicious burgers at Charlie’s. Totally worth missing the workout! The next day we headed to the track for our own workout – Drew focused on speed work and I tackled Day 2 of C25K.

So excited to run that I couldn't help taking all the blurry photos!

So excited to run that I couldn’t help taking all the blurry and unflattering photos!

Even though we were running around 8pm, it was still ridiculous hot and humid. Temps had been in the 90s that day, and while we were at the track, it still felt like 90 (~32 C) with the humidity:

photo(1)I don’t know if I was cocky after having such a great Day 1 of C25K, or if I was being subconsciously motivated by Drew and his speed work, or what… but I may have gone a little too fast during this workout. At one point, I was cruising along happily when my knee started twinging. I glanced at Simon and noticed I was going at an 8:30 pace, which is pretty speedy for me! I tried to rein it in, but my legs were being stubborn and I definitely took this run too fast. My legs wanted to fly, apparently! It made for one sore knee, and one exhausted me… but a good exhausted. And the sunset was pretty:

photo(14)c25k_wk1_day2Week 1, Day 3

Julie and I met over the weekend, on yet another oppressively hot and humid day, for Day 3. We walked to the pond (~1.5 miles) to warm up because, frankly, the 5 minute warmup for C25K hasn’t been cutting it for us. After our walk we did some dynamic stretching, and then fired up the app.

We were more conscious about running slowly this time, instead of going almost all out like we had Day 1, and like I had Day 2. This made it slightly less painful, except I had my phone stashed in my handheld water bottle pouch and, even with the volume all the way up, I kept missing the cues of when to walk and when to run. So we may have run more than we were supposed to… that’s okay, right?

I’m a bad blogger and neglected to take pictures (like the one I wanted of our matching knee braces), but really… how many pictures of my gross, red face do you need to see in one post?

c25k_wk1_day3Week 1 in review

Pro: It felt really good to be back in some kind of regimented running program. As much as I’ve mocked my attempts at following training plans in the past, I’ve found that I do like having the structure there. It’s nice to have a guide, and a purpose. And Couch to 5K is a nice, gentle way to get back into that sort of thing.

Pro: It’s awesome having a running buddy again! I didn’t realize just how much I was missing Colin’s motivating presence until Julie and I set off together Day 1. Having set plans of meeting up to run is good motivation for me, and it’s awesome having someone to exchange encouragement with when it’s disgustingly gross out and the running is a struggle. (Drew has been an occasional running buddy too, but he’s been doing his own thing lately as I’ve been recovering from knee dodginess. So it’s not quite the same.)

Con: As awesome as C25K is, and as handy as the app is, I need an extra kick in the butt to warm up and cool down properly. A 5-minute brisk walk as a warmup is better than nothing – same with the 5-minute cool-down walk – but my tight muscles and I need to get our stretch on. It’s so easy just turning the app on and going, but I’ve found I definitely need to work my own warmup/cool-down into the routine. And you know how good I am at remembering to stretch…. if only I knew how to hack apps to force myself to do it! Ah well, it’ll become a habit eventually, right?

Con: This can’t be helped, but UGH the weather lately. It feels like running through soup at times. It’s definitely making me look forward to the cooler weather of fall…

Onward to Week 2!

How’s the weather where you are? Is it miserable running weather like it is here?

How’s your training going?

8 thoughts on “Couch to 5K: Week 1

  1. Congrats on making it through week 1! The weather here has been pretty oppressive as well. I keep meaning to get up and run early, but I simply don’t have the energy. Maybe once Chess is over and I’m not in rehearsals during the evenings it will be easier to get up… Maybe…

    • Thanks! πŸ™‚ Getting up early to run before work is so noble, but so hard. I can’t see myself doing it any time soon. It’ll be at least a little easier once rehearsals are done, I’m sure πŸ˜‰

  2. What is with the humidity everywhere lately? Every time I run I feel like my lungs are in water! Nice running this week! I wish I had someone to run with. I think I would take less breaks if I wasn’t by myself. I could use someone to hold me accountable sometimes. πŸ™‚

    • Ugh, the humidity is no joke! The accountability factor with a running buddy is key for me. If I lived out there I’d be your running buddy! πŸ™‚

  3. I have today decided to start the C25K program after an 18 month break from running due to injury and life changes. So I am looking forward to following your journey on the same program. I don’t blog about running (I blog about travel) so you won’t see my progress but I am going to follow your’s as inspiration. I too am struggling with laziitis. It’s 9:30pm and I am finally heading out for my first run/walk session.

    • Welcome to the C25K club! I’m honored that you’d see my blog updates as inspiration… that will keep me extra motivated to make sure I do my workouts πŸ™‚ Good luck with your program!

Leave a Reply

