The Autumn of My Discontent

Readers, I’ve been feeling a little sad these past few days. I don’t know how it’s been where you live, but fall has kicked into full gear around here and all I can think of is how it’s *perfect* running weather. Lots of people seem to agree, because everywhere I go runners are doing their thing, and I’m looking at them all like:

Three weeks ago I wrote about my lovely little metatarsal that got all stressed out. The good news is I never needed a boot or crutches, but the bad news is I still have the 6-8 weeks of enforced rest that goes along with stress injuries.

In that last post, I wrote about how I wasn’t too bothered about being sidelined yet again… “I’m okay about resting,” I wrote. Yeah, no. I may have still been in the denial stage when I wrote that. Plus, we hadn’t quite entered optimal Fall in New England running weather either. Now I’m being taunted by crisp temperatures, lovely foliage, millions of runners swarming everywhere I go, and memories of last year:

This time last year

This time last year

It’s hard to believe it was a year ago already when I was wrapping up my training for my first half marathon. Colin and I were running laps of the pond like nobody’s business, enjoying the gorgeous weather and fretting over phantom injuries that proved to be just the paranoia of runners approaching big races.

Now it’s looking like I won’t be hitting the pavement until late November at the earliest which, on top of being a bummer in general, means I have to DNS *yet* another race this year… one I thought was far enough in advance that I’d have plenty of time to be actually trained for. Ugh. 2015 just was not my year.

I’m also seriously restricted in terms of what I can do for exercise these days:

  • no running (obviously)
  • no ellipticals
  • no stationary bikes unless the resistance is set at the very lowest (I tried this at the gym and had to hit 110+ RPMs to get my heart rate up enough to break a sweat, which just made the bike wobble dangerously and it was awkward)
  • no walking more than absolutely necessary, and since my cube is on a mezzanine with stairs as the only access and I’m up and down them all day, this means not a lot of extra walking
  • no squats, lunges, or other exercises that require putting weight on my feet
  • no planks or push-ups, since that involves my toes and involving my toes hurts

So, yeah. My doctor recommended:

  • swimming, which I don’t love since I can’t do it very well, and certainly can’t do it well enough to get any exercise from it
  • lifting weights while seated
  • gentle stationary biking, which again isn’t much of a workout

If I’m perfectly honest, I’ve been enjoying feeling sorry for myself and letting myself be lazy… that crisper weather makes reclining on the couch with a blanket and either a good book or a good TV show quite lovely, and I’ve been taking advantage of that. However, did I mention all the pastries and stroopwafel I’ve been eating in the past month? Yeah… I need to get active again.

Since my laziness has extended to making a plan for myself, I’m going to put something down in writing and use this public bloggy forum to keep myself accountable. Here are some things I can do:

  • leg raises, clam shells, prone hip extension, hamstring thingies using the giant ball, and anything else I can remember from my runner’s knee PT
  • upper body workouts… I have some tiny free weights and should rustle them from their extended slumber under the guest bed
  • … research more forms of exercise that don’t require using one’s feet, or standing

Hmm, this list could use some work. While I get right on that, please, those of you who can run right now… please enjoy the lovely fall weather for me, if it is lovely fall weather that you’re having. I hear California is a little warm these days… regardless, I’m jealous that you can run, even if it’s wicked hot! 🙂

How is the weather where you are?

Do you have any suggestions for good, non-feet-related exercise??
Perhaps any good arm routines for free weights?

8 thoughts on “The Autumn of My Discontent

    • Definitely not been my year! Thank you for the arm routine, and for the reminder that I can do push-ups on my knees!! Totally forgot I could do that… d’oh 🙂

  1. I’ve been working a lot recently and haven’t had a chance to run much, but I have been taking my lunch to the nearby park and having picnics. Its a nice way to enjoy the weather without working out. As far as the arm workouts, pull-ups are my favorite challenge. Even doing 1 is hard! How many can you do? How many do you think you’ll be able to do at the end of your running hiatus?

    • Good reminder – I have been enjoying the fall weather, even if I can’t run in it! 🙂 I like the challenge you’ve posed. I’m not even sure I can do one pull-up, but I’m intrigued now!

  2. My weights are under the bed too, ha! Sorry your unable to run and have to miss your race, that’s rough. Hopefully this will be your last injury for a very long time. What is fall weather like? I have no idea. 🙂 I left work early yesterday because I wasn’t feeling well and all I wanted to do was curl up with a blanket but it’s still too hot outside!

Leave a Reply

