A Week of Little Victories

Sometimes when your running has been suboptimal – like when you’re trying really hard to run with proper form but are finding you can’t fun as far as you used to without taking lots of walk breaks – looking for the little victories makes it all feel a bit better. Like Fallon says, look for the shiny!

Well, I managed some shinies last week, which I’ve been trying to focus on instead of the things that make me feel frustrated (like the aforementioned lack of fitness):

1: Completed a set of GRG intervals!

The first time I tried Day 1 of these intervals (10x 1 minute running, 1 minute walking) I could only manage 5 of the 10 sets. On Tuesday, I churned out all 10 and felt pretty chuffed with myself!

I went down to the track to join the Shammies at their weekly speed workout, but knowing that I’d be doing my own thing in Lane 6 instead of going along with their intense, 5ish miles of speedy hell. I managed 5 sets before wanting to quit (including Set #4 which was ridiculously speedy and I’m not sure why), but I didn’t want to let myself quit. I wanted to finish all 10! So I took a water break and got back out there:

*The paces are nice, round numbers because they’re not based on exact-exact science. I basically hovered my cursor over the running bits and tried to figure out as close to an average pace as I could. I should have set Simon to record laps so I could have measured that way but, to be honest, I didn’t know how at the time. So this will have to do!

2: Attended my first run club track workout in what felt like forever AND beat my Blerch!

(See Shiny #1.) I really didn’t want to go out and run when I got home from work on Tuesday (cue the Blerch beckoning to me from the couch with a can of cider), but let Drew be the voice of reason; he kept saying “It’ll be good to see everyone, just go and you’ll feel so much better.” And he was right! I missed my peeps, and running alongside them is a great motivator. Take that, Blerch!

3: Ran 2 complete miles using proper form!

Remember the suboptimal thing I mentioned in the first paragraph? So, while my “proper form” running does make me go faster than my old, flingy-shins way of running, I don’t have the fitness level yet to keep that momentum going for long. Previous running style let me go 6+ miles without needing a walk break (if I went slow enough, that is), so the fact that I could just barely make a mile without needing a break was getting me down a bit.

On Thursday I set out for an easy 2-mile jaunt, without really any goals in mind – I just wanted to run. As usual, I started out a bit too quickly and was trying to slow myself down while holding the proper form. At maybe 4/10 of a mile in, I realized that I was running nicely, but holding an incredibly comfortable pace. I wondered if I could hold that pace for the full 2 miles and – not counting stopping at crosswalks and such – I could!

thurs2miler

Look at that (mostly) steady pace line! That run gave me such a mental boost… finally I found that I can run properly without having to speed away like a bat out of hell. That speediness would be nice to maintain to be sure, but it’s something that will come with time and training. AND, my slow-and-steady(ish) pace with the new form is more than a minute faster than my shin-flingy form, so that’s definitely a shiny!

(Not so shiny? My knees felt a bit dodgy after the run. I stretched when I got home, then popped some ice packs on just in case… while I chowed down on my PB + banana sandwich:)

(Shiny footnote: the knees seem to be behaving themselves now… fingers crossed it stays that way!)

4: Did a core/arms workout!

I’m terrible at cross-training consistently, so anytime I manage a non-running workout I’m pretty pleased. Drew and I were going to go to the gym on Friday after work, but forgot that they were closing early for the long weekend. Instead, I busted out some push-ups, planks, a quick bit of weight-lifting, and even some of the exercises GRG had given me re: my breathing and lazy glutes. (My glutes were a bit angry with me later in the day, but they got over it.)

5: Completed a long run!

I’ll do another silly “analyzing my run” post about this, but I banged out 4 miles on Sunday, bringing my weekly mileage up to a dizzying 8. After all my 10%-rule talk in my last post, apparently that is now out the window, as I jumped from 5 to 8 weekly miles in one go. C’est la vie d’une coureuse, oui?

What’s been shiny for you recently?

6 thoughts on “A Week of Little Victories

  1. Thank you for the shout out! Oh, proper form, what an elusive bi- er, creature. I’ve recently been told that my form falls apart fairly quickly. Boo! I should probably have someone film me but I am afraid to see the results. 🙂 Glad to hear you had a good week of running!

    • You’re welcome! I think of your shiny idea often when I’m getting frustrated, so it only seemed right 🙂 Proper form is a tricky, elusive bi- creature!! 😉 I wish I could drag my GRG out to the track with me and have her watch me to make sure I’m doing it right… I have a feeling my form is all over the place. But it’s better than it used to be, anyway!

Leave a Reply

