Analyzing My Run: The Rainy 5-Miler

Hello again! I thought if I could get my thoughts on my run down faster than I did last week, maybe I’d have something of substance to say. Knowing my brain though, it’ll probably just be more rambling. Let’s see how it turns out, shall we?

(TL;dr – I ran 5 miles in the rain. It was hard. It was slow. Then I ate a doughnut.)

I knew even last night that today’s long run probably wouldn’t be a very good one. I spent yesterday hanging out with B, my best friend from college, and the day involved North End pizza, JP Licks ice cream, some cheeky Union Square donuts, lots of walking in the sun (leading to a very red face/head), good talks, and a Primark bender. I managed to fit the consumption of a bottle of water in there, but on the whole didn’t hydrate a lot or eat very well. So I had already stacked my own cards against me.

Carrying on regardless, I pulled myself out of bed at 7:30, donned my kit (including a hat which would serve the double purpose of a) protecting my fried scalp and forehead and b) keeping the rain out of my eyes), took a bite of the pieces of doughnut I had left over from yesterday, and headed out into the drizzle with the aim of doing 5 miles.

IMG_6829

Stopped for a breather in the drizzly lagoon

I had done a 3-minute : 1-minute run-walk interval for last week’s 4-miler, then rode the struggle bus pretty hard doing 2:1 at the track on Tuesday, so I opted for the middle ground – 2:30 : 1.

5milerThe first few were grand – I was running downhill, IĀ  passed Shammie Steve and thus wanted to look good… and then I just kind of petered out. My mile times got progressively slower for the first 3 miles (though I did manage to negative split the last 2… I think I was excited knowing I’d be done soon!)

5miler2Foregoing the MapMyRun Route Genius, I took my run down to the pond and around the lagoon, and then sort of improvised as I went from there. Highlights include seeing a goose family with some awkward-stage adolescent goslings, playing inadvertent tag with a robin (he was sitting on the path and when I’d get close, he’d fly a few yards farther down the path, only to have to fly again as I approached. I finally scolded him gently with a “Mr. Robin! You should get how this works this by now!” and he at last fled to a nearby tree), and seeing a bunch of Shammies.

In fact, I decided to add some commentary to my Garmin stats:

5milercommentaryI especially enjoy what happened at the 3rd and 4th arrows… trying to squeeze some more distance into the final stretch home, I decided I’d run “down” a street I’d never been on before, only to turn the corner and see that “down” was so wrong. The street went straight up. Arrow 3 shows my gob-smacked walk break, i.e. stopping cold to stare at the hill in disbelief, and then pulling out my phone to take a picture:

Hills never look as bad in pictures, do they? But this one was a monster.

Hills never look as bad in pictures, do they? But this one was a monster.

The run down the other side was fantastic, though!

I did learn on this run that Simon is very hard to hear when running along busy roads that are wet – the passing cars drown out his beeps completely. If you look at the data in the last data-ful image, you can see my intervals are pretty regular. Then the fat 2nd arrow was when I turned onto a main road and lost the plot the ability to hear the beeps. It felt like that interval was particularly tough and seemingly endless, and then I realized I had run for 2 running chunks without a walk break. Oops!

The gleeful run down the Monster Hill brought me to another main street, so after one last quick pause while waiting to cross an intersection, I abandoned the intervals and just kept running. In a moment of desperation and weakness, I even tried to revert back to my old flingy-shins running style in the last half-mile, in hopes that it would make my life easier, but I think I was still mostly keeping proper(ish) form. I guess that’s a good thing!

I somehow dragged myself to the Mile 5 beep and shut Simon down immediately. I walked the rest of the way home, stretched, pounded a glass of Nuun, and then shoved the remaining Union Square donuts in my face. Follow that with a shower, a homemade iced latte, and a delicious (and much healthier than doughnuts) scramble, and I felt much better. But that run was hard, man. How the h-e-double-hockey-sticks am I going to be able to do a half marathon in two weeks??

[Cue quick panic]

Looking for the shiny, one thing I really enjoyed was (figuratively) running into friends during this run, and reflecting on how much better it made the run seem, even for just a few seconds. I used to have the luxury of having a faithful running buddy when Colin still lived down the street; running with someone, especially on long runs, really makes the run seem shorter and less terrible. Now that I’m mostly on my own, runs can feel endless. I bumped into three separate clusters of Shammies along the way, plus Shammie Steve at the start, and seeing them gave me a great boost.

(Related, so did stopping to pet a big, fluffy, friendly dog belonging to one of those Shammies!)

How was your weekend? Did you run long or race?

Doughnuts – good pre-run fuel and/or post-run recovery snack, or nah?

Am I going to survive a half in two weeks?? Or am I completely crazy?

Ever been to a Primark? If so, are you as obsessed as I am?

4 thoughts on “Analyzing My Run: The Rainy 5-Miler

  1. I’ve actually had some of my best runs after eating a donut..or two. I’ve never intentionally tested it though. What is Primark?
    Nice run! A misty run sounds amazing to me, thought I was going to fry on my run yesterday- I am not ready for summer heat!

    • I would be willing to give donuts another try, even though they didn’t help me out in this run too much. I will give them the benefit of the doubt šŸ˜‰ Primark is a magical store that started in Ireland and sells inexpensive clothes that are cute and sometimes hilarious. I could spend hours in there! I think the one in Boston is one of the first, if not the first, in the States.
      My traditionally hottest race of the year is next Sunday and right now the forecast says rain… I’m hoping it doesn’t change! The misty run was amazing.

  2. Mmm, donuts. I usually save them for after a run as opposed to eating them before, but I’d be willing to give it a go. I think you’ll be fine with the half. It may feel sucky, but you’ll finish. Just take care of yourself between now and then, hydrate like a champ, and stick to your intervals.

    • I figured the donut was a quick rush of carbs, and that can’t hurt, right? šŸ˜‰ Thank you for the reassurance re: the half… I think I needed someone to tell me it’s doable (though sucky, likely)! People have just been grimacing at me when I tell them about it, haha. Thanks Rae šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

