We Interrupt This Blog…

Oh hello there. Remember me, the blogger whose posts got sparser and sparser as her pregnancy moved along? I had big plans, readers. I did. I have several draft posts started, and I was planning on finishing them and queueing them up so I’d have some regular entries, and then I’d start blogging again in earnest once I got in the groove of maternity leave. You know, when it would be spring and I’d be out rebuilding my mileage base with the jogging stroller and would have a lot to write about.

Well, one thing I’ve learned in the past few months: babies are really good at laughing in the face of your so-called plans.

I was convinced my wee bairn would be late. I decided to start maternity leave on his due date anyway so that I could have some final “me time” – time to read, work on cross-stitches for the nursery, organize the baby clothes, mentally prepare for motherhood (as much as one can, anyway), etc.

And then my wee bairn decided he wanted to check out the world three weeks early.

The day before he was born, Drew and I finally started building the nursery furniture. We got the changing table and rocking chair done:

…then took one look at all the pieces belonging to the crib and thought “nah, we’ll do that tomorrow.” Also planned for the next day: getting the baby’s bureau down from the attic, washing all his clothes and then organizing them and putting them in said bureau, and finally getting around to taking baby shower gifts out of their bags that were still taking up our hallway.

Instead of all that, I woke up the next day and thought “hmm, I feel a bit funny.” A few hours later “a bit funny” had turned into “HOLY HELL” and we were on our way to the hospital. One hour after checking in, my little speedster was staring at us with huge blue eyes:


My wee man continued (and continues) to laugh in the face of any plans I made, but he’s adorable so I don’t mind too much. I’m learning to roll with it when he decides to take epic naps on the days I plan to meet friends for lunch, or when he decides to scream at the overstimulation that is Target on a Saturday afternoon when Drew and I thought it would be fun to have a little shopping adventure.

And the jogging stroller adventures? We’ve had one. It was a walk. Mother Nature decided she wanted the bulk of my maternity leave to be filled with snow, and since people in my city don’t clear their sidewalks, I’ve only had a few chances to get out there. But that’s okay. The snow is gone now and warmer weather is on its way, and I now know that the jogger is AWESOME and I’m so ready to run around the pond with it.

I’m hoping to blog about postpartum running adventures at least a little bit. I naively thought all those late night feedings would be a grand time to blog, but, um yeah… those late night feedings are barely survived with my eyes open. I can’t make promises, but I’ll certainly try to keep up with this whole blog world as much as I can.

In the meantime… what have I missed? How are you? What’s the most exciting thing that’s happened to you so far in 2017 (because the chances of me successfully playing catchup with all the blogs I follow is pretty slim!)?

6 thoughts on “We Interrupt This Blog…

  1. Congrats! So happy to see a post from you! And, a big fat EXACTLY, to your comment about babies laughing in the face of even the smallest plans. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

